Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Music Listening

Music Listening
Institutional Header

Albert Richard Mohr Collection

Presented to the library in June 1970 by Dr. Albert Richard Mohr of Frankfurt, Germany, the "Archives for New Music" is reputed to be the greatest collection in Europe of original music notes, manuscripts, autographs, and photographs of contemporary European composers. Composers from nineteen countries are represented, including Paul Hindemith, Carl Orff, and Richard Strauss of Germany; Jean Sibelius, Finland; Flor Peeters, Belgium; Marcel Dupre, Darius Milhaud, Marcel Rousseau and Maurice Ravel of France; Luigi Dallapiccola and G. Francesco Malipiero, Italy; Arthur Honegger, Switzerland; Bela Bartok and Zoltan Kodaly, Hungary; and Joaquin Turnia, Spain.

The collection also includes 216 original sketches of stage settings and costumes of opera presentations of the works of contemporary composers from Denmark, Germany, Italy, Austria, Rumania, Sweden, Spain and Czechoslovakia. Other related materials were donated by Dr. Mohr to the Johann Christian Senckenberg University Library.

For additional information about Albert Richard Mohr, please visit:
(see Universit├Ątsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg Musik- und Theaterabteilung "Special Collections")
(see "Exhibition Catalogues" section)

E-mail comments and inquiries about the Mohr Collection to Therese Dickman, Fine Arts Librarian, at or call 618-650-2695.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff socialoff