2018 NSF-CBMS: Computational Methods in Optimal Control.

July 23-27, 2018, Jackson State University, Jackson, MS

Travel support for selected participants. Register now!

About Conference Flyer

Due to the growing complexity of optimal control applications, approximate solutions are often obtained by numerical algorithms, which requires deep understanding of numerical discretization and solution techniques. Dr. Hager will deliver ten main lectures on state-of-the-art computational methods on optimal control during the morning sessions, which are accompanied with guided computer lab sessions in the afternoon focusing on computer implementations of the discussed algorithms. The presented lectures and the corresponding monograph will provide both the background needed to analyze convergence of discrete approximations and solution techniques in optimal control, and practical experience in solving real-world problems. To complement the content of the main lectures, a few invited speakers will give additional introductory talks that focus on efficient numerical methods for solving optimal control problems whose dynamics are described by a partial differential equation.

As one of the largest Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) in the United States, Jackson State University is an excellent location for hosting this conference, which will have a direct impact on training and attracting African-American students in the computational mathematics and statistical sciences doctoral programs and professions. The anticipated participants include senior and junior faculty, postdoctoral fellows, and graduate students. Some travel support will be provided to selected participants based on several criteria, such as relevance of research background, academic preparation, potential of long-term collaboration, and broader impacts.

Organizers: Dr. Tor A. Kwembe, Dr. Jun Liu, Dr. Yonghua Yan, Dr. Zhenbu Zhang


1400 John R. Lynch St. Jackson, MS, Mississippi

The conference will be held on the main campus of Jackson State University.

On-campus housing at low price may be requested as travel support in online registration.

Near-by Hotel: Jackson Marriott Downtown, 200 E Amite St, Jackson, MS 39201, Link to make online reservations, (601) 969-5100

Near-by Airport (20mins): Jackson--Medgar Wiley Evers International Airport (JAN) Link the airport information, (601) 939-5631

Near-by Train Station (10mins): Jackson, Mississippi Train Station (JAN) | Amtrak Link the Train Station information, (800) 872-7245


  • Professor Hager William

    9:00am-12pm Computational Methods in Optimal Control

    Professor Hager William @University of Florida

    Dr. Hager has been involved in research on numerical methods in optimal control for the past 45 years, and is an expert in this area. In particular, he has been a leader in the recent development of orthogonal collocation (pseudospectral) methods which have shown great promise. He is also managing editor of the journal Computational Optimization and Applications which has been an outlet for many papers in the area of numerical methods in optimal control. Dr. Hager was selected as a SIAM Fellow in 2015, for his contributions to optimal control, optimization theory, and numerical optimization algorithms. As an influential educator, Dr. Hager has advised about 20 Ph.D. students, many of whom are very productive as junior researchers. He has given more than 200 invited research presentations and lectures at numerous professional conferences and departmental colloquia. As a prestigious researcher, Dr. Hager has published more than 150 peer reviewed articles in high-quality journals and has reviewed numerous journal articles, books, and research proposals. Dr. Hager has been awarded almost 40 research grants from many different funding agencies, in- cluding NSF, ONR, ARO, AFRL, AFOSR, and DARPA.

  • 1:30pm-2:30pm Guest Speakers lectures

    Guest Speakers


Tentative daily schedule of the conference.

Time Slot Description
8:30-9:00am Check-in / Coffee -
9:00am-12pm Professor Hager William Computational Methods in Optimal Control University of Florida 5 day lectures on computational methods in optimal control, focusing on discretization and solution techniques.
12pm-1:30pm Lunch -
1:30pm-2:30pm Guest Speakers lectures Introductory lectures on numerical methods for optimal control of PDEs, presented by our invited speakers: Dr. Matthias Heinkenschloss, Dr. Michael Hinze, Dr. Baasansuren Jadamba, Dr. Dmitriy Leykekhman.
2:30pm-3:00pm Coffee-break -
3:00pm-5:00pm Lab Session -
5:00pm-7:00pm Group dinner -




Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact the organizers:

Dr. Tor A. Kwembe, tor.a.kwembe@jsums.edu, (601) 979-2161

Dr. Jun Liu, juliu@siue.edu, (618) 650-2220

Dr. Yonghua Yan, yonghua.yan@jsums.edu, (601) 979-3762

Dr. Zhenbu Zhang, zhenbu.zhang@jsums.edu, (601) 979-3752