Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Institutional Header
Julie Furst-Bowe

Julie A. Furst-Bowe


( Curriculum Vitae pdf )

Dr. Julie A. Furst-Bowe was appointed the eighth chancellor of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE) on July 2, 2012. SIUE is a St. Louis-area comprehensive master’s university with more than 14,000 students and 2,500 faculty and staff members. SIUE awards degrees in 44 baccalaureate and 70 graduate programs including arts and sciences, nursing, education, business and engineering. Advanced professional degree programs include the Doctor of Dental Medicine, Doctor of Pharmacy, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and Doctor of Education. The University includes a regional STEM Center, an outreach center in East St. Louis, a nursing complex in Springfield, a School of Dental Medicine in Alton, and a research and technology park.

Before her appointment as chancellor, Dr. Furst-Bowe served from 2005 to 2012 as provost and vice chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, the first and only university to receive the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. While provost, Dr. Furst-Bowe worked with faculty to expand the academic program array, adding new undergraduate and graduate programs in computer engineering, plastics engineering, cognitive science, sustainable management, environmental science, science education and information technology management. Her previous roles at UW-Stout included assistant chancellor — assessment and continuous improvement, and associate vice chancellor — Academic and Student Affairs. She also served as a faculty member, graduate program director and department chair during her tenure at UW-Stout.

In her administrative roles in Illinois and Wisconsin, Dr. Furst-Bowe was involved in the design and construction of several education facilities including new science complexes at both SIUE and UW-Stout, a new engineering facility at SIUE, and a new technology center — Millennium Hall — at UW-Stout. She also advanced sustainability initiatives — inside and outside the classroom — at both institutions.

Dr. Furst-Bowe is nationally and internationally recognized for her expertise in systems thinking in higher education, and has written several articles and edited a book — Quality and Performance Excellence in Higher Education — on this topic. In 2012, she edited a book on advancing STEM education, and serves as editor of the International Journal of Excellence in Education. For more than a decade, she has served as a quality improvement consultant for numerous colleges and universities across the United States. She has served as a Fulbright Scholar, working with a new university in Azerbaijan through the Fulbright program. Over the past decade, she has shared her experience with educators in 16 countries throughout North America, Europe, Asia and the Middle East. She also has expanded globalization, increasing the number of study abroad programs, international partnerships and international students at both SIUE and UW-Stout.

She is a founding board member of the National Consortium for Continuous Improvement in Higher Education and serves as higher education chair for the American Society for Quality. Dr. Furst-Bowe worked with a team of ASQ leaders to establish an annual nationwide conference for advancing STEM education. Dr. Furst-Bowe has served for more than a decade as a peer reviewer for the Higher Learning Commission and is a former senior examiner for the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. Dr. Furst-Bowe is active in the American Association of State Colleges and Universities and is a member of the International Association of University Presidents.

Locally, Dr. Furst-Bowe is a member of St. Louis Civic Progress, the executive committee of the Leadership Council of Southwestern Illinois, Innovate St. Louis, and the boards of directors of the Southern Illinois Collegiate Common Market, Hospital Sisters Health System, University Park – SIUE, and Girl Scouts of Southwestern Illinois. Dr. Furst-Bowe earned her doctorate in education from the University of Minnesota. Her dissertation received the Award of Excellence for Outstanding Research from the International Society for Performance Improvement. She has received numerous awards, including the 2011 Outstanding Achievement Award from Wisconsin Women in Higher Education Leadership.