Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE

Institutional Header

The Emeriti Faculty Association is pleased to request proposals from SIUE tenure and tenure-track faculty for projects that strengthen the academic quality of programs and that enhance the reputation of the University. The deadline for proposals has been extended to Friday, April 3, 2020. Application guidelines are available here.
Eligible activities include but are not limited to the following:

  • Departmental colloquia that involve recognized outside experts
  • Curricular development (disciplinary or interdisciplinary)
  • Faculty exchanges, including international exchanges
  • Scholar-in-residence programs

Ineligible Activities include activities supported elsewhere in the University, such as research, development of teaching skills, and individual professional development.

For more information, please contact Charlotte Johnson at, David Ault at, Jim Weingartner at or Richard Brugam at

“One More Thought…” Lecture Series 

The Emeriti Faculty Association in partnership with the Provost Office and the Academic Deans invite students, faculty and staff to nominate a faculty member to present their thoughts, advice and insights about academic life during the inaugural “One More Thought…” Lecture this fall.

All SIUE emeriti faculty, in addition to all current faculty members who have been in the professorial rank for at least five years, are eligible to be nominated.

Nominations will be accepted through Sunday, March 1 by emailing Nominees will then be contacted by the Review Committee to submit a complete application. The selected faculty member will receive a $1,500 honorarium.  

For more information, visit “One More Thought ...” Lecture Series.

Emeriti Faculty Association Awards for 2019

The Emeriti Faculty Association provides grants to SIUE tenure/tenure-track faculty for projects that strengthen the academic quality of programs and that enhance the reputation of the University. This year’s proposals were reviewed by emeriti faculty David Ault, Richard Brugam, Richard Keating, and Carol Keene. The Awards Committee announced the following winners at this year’s annual Spring Reception.

(1)    Michelle Cathorall,  Applied Health; and Kathleen Vongsathorn, Historical Studies, “Global Health and Networking Event,” $2800.00

(2)    Jayashee George, Art and Design; and Laura Strand, Art and Design, “Art Therapy and Textile Studio Workshops/Faculty Exchange in India,” $3932.00

(3)    Anne Powell, CMIS; and Markus Nauroth, Computer Science, Mainz University, Germany, “International Class on Mobile Application Development,” $4000.00; and

(4)    Carolina Rocha, Foreign Languages and Literature, “SIUE-Limerick Faculty Exchange,” 1895.00

Emeriti Faculty Fall Reception

The Emeriti Faculty Fall Reception was held on October 30th at Birger Hall. About 45 attendees shared light refreshments, enjoyed each other’s company, and listened to brief presentations from last year’s faculty award winners and an informative talk by former SIU President Randy Dunn on the issues facing higher education in Illinois.

2020 reception 1reception 2020 2reception 2020 3




facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff socialoff