Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE

English header


The English Department offers four minor programs: the Literature Minor, the Linguistics Minor, the Rhetoric & Writing Minor, and the Creative Writing Minor.

Each consists of six courses or 18 semester hours.

All of the minors except for the Literature Minor may be combined with the English Major.

The requirements for the Literature Minor are uncomplicated. The other minors, however, are rather specific in their requirements, and as a result their completion requires a certain amount of advance planning. The Creative Writing Minor, for example, has a sequence of four core courses.

Only English courses in which a student earns a C or better may count towards any of the four minor programs.

The English Department also participates in the new Interdisciplinary Digital Humanities and Social Sciences Minor which is housed in the Interdisciplinary Research and Informatics Scholarship (IRIS) Center.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff socialoff