Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Institutional Header


Congratulations to the winners of the Spring 2012 URCA Assistant Program Awards!!

Vaughn Vandegrift URCA Assistant Research Mentor of the Semester Award


Dr. Hsin-hsin Huang, Social Work

Nominated by: Lauren Winchester

"Dr. Huang goes above and beyond her duties as a social work professor and URCA mentor. We appreciate that we feel as if we can approach her at any time and will be well received. [She] consistently offers encouragement and praise for our hard work, helping to keep us motivated to contribute in meaningful ways."

URCA Research Assistant of the Semester Award


Rosey Morr, Psychology

Nominated by: Dr. Joel Nadler

"... Rosey has impressed me with her dedication, creativity, and solid work ethic. She has been a successful student, an exceptional research assistant, and an active psychology major. She possesses a rare combination of ability, interest, and drive and I am sure she will succeed in any endeavor she takes on."

URCA Creative Activities Mentor of the Semester Award


Dr. Carolina Rocha, Foreign Languages & Literature

Nominated by: Stephanie Bloch

"Professor Rocha is extremely well organized and energetic about the work she does. ... her positive attitude in the classroom instills curiosity and a willingness to learn in her students."

URCA Assistant Creative Activities Assistant of the Semester Award


Kayla Hays, English Language & Literature

Nominated by: Dr. Jessica DeSpain

"... Kayla is truly, inspiringly intellectually curious... she asks insightful questions, reads and applies theory from her other classes to our own work... [she is] responsible, efficient and ingenious."

Other nominees:

V.V. Research Mentor

Dr. Betsy Meinz, Psychology
Nominated by: Jaid Ritter

Dr. Bill Retzlaff, Biological Sciences
Nominated by: Brittany Buckles

Dr. Brad Cross, Civil Engineering
Nominated by: Evan Wilson

Dr. Dayna Henry, Kinesiology & Health Education
Nominated by: Ashley henry and Kourtney Mraz

Dr. Dennis Bouvier, Computer Science
Nominated by: Tim Kluthe

Dr. Faith Liebl, Biological Sciences
Nominated by: Chelsea McCoy, Denise Hand

Dr. Fengxia Wang, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Nominated by: Seth Baker

Dr. Kathryn Brady, Special Education & Communication Disorders
Nominated by: Jaime Henderson, Megan Smith, Mollee Pezold

Dr. Laura Pawlow, Psychology
Nominated by: Richard Sauls, Michelle Voegtle, Ginger Monroe

Dr. Luci Kohn, Biological Sciences
Nominated by: Mitchell Elting

Dr. Majid Molki, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Nominated by: Michael Largent

Dr. Marjorie Baier, Nursing
Nominated by: Kiley Herndon

Dr. Medha Gautam, School of Dental Medicine
Nominated by: Nicolas Varney

Dr. Min Liu, Speech Communication
Nominated by: Megan Harbison

Dr. Mohammad Yousef, Physics
Nominated by: Brad Rimmert

Dr. Sarah Luesse, Chemistry
Nominated by: Michael Myers

Dr. Song Chew, Mathematics & Statistics
Nominated by: Morgan Gartke

Research Assistant

Chelsea McCoy, Biological Sciences
Nominated by: Dr. Faith Liebl

Christina Palka, Chemistry
Nominated by: Dr. Chin-Chuan Wei

Kiley Herndon, Nursing
Nominated by: Dr. Marjorie Baier

Lauren Winchester, Social Work
Nominated by: Dr. Hsin-hsin Huang

Michael Largent, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Nominated by: Dr. Majid Molki

Seth Baker, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Nominated by: Dr. Fengxia Wang

Tonya Hatter, Psychology
Nominated by: Dr. Dan Segrist

Fall 2011 URCA Award Winners

For more information about the URCA program,
contact Dr. Laura Pawlow at 618-650-2608 or

The calls for nominations for these awards go out mid-fall and mid-spring.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff socialoff