Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE


URCA Header

Current URCA Associate Projects



2018 - 2019 URCA Associates

URCA

2018-2019 Cohort

Ben

 Ben Harsin

Major: Biology (pre-med) and Spanish

bharsin@siue.edu

Examining the role of Kismet with respect to cell adhesion molecule expression and synaptic endocytosis


Mentor: Dr. Faith Liebl

Bobbi

Bobbi Potter

Major: Chemistry ACS

bopotte@siue.edu 

Investigating the effects of silver nanoparticles on Daphnia magna through dietary and waterborne exposure

Mentor: Dr. Kevin Tucker

Chelsie

Chelsie Zajac

Major: Exercise Science

czajac@siue.edu

Prevalence of the Male Athlete Triad in SIUe NCAA Division One Athletes

Mentor: Dr. Brianne Guilford

Erica

Erica Periandri

Major: Biological Sciences and Foreign Languages/Literature (French)

eperian@siue.edu 

Identification of the Causative Mutant Locus in the Arabidopsis mutant gravity persistent signal 5

Mentor: Dr. Darron Luesse

Haylee

Haylee Altenburg

Major: Exercise Science

haltenb@siue.edu 

The effects of sex differences and diet on the development of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease 

Mentors: Dr. Joshua Wooten

Jessica

Jacob Worms

Major: Chemistry and Genetics and Cell Biology

jworms@siue.edu 

Exploration of the Ugi-Smiles Oxy-Michael Reaction: Phenol, Solvat and Aldehyde Modifications

Mentor: Dr. Sarah Luesse

Kelly

Kelly Sopek

Major: Anthropology and History

ksopek@siue.edu 

Hopewellian Interaction in the American Bottom: An Analysis of Artifacts At the Gehring Site (11MS99)

Mentor: Dr. Julie Zimmermann

Paige

Paige Niepotter

Major: Nursing

pnehrt@siue.edu

Determination of Physical and Mental Exhaustion with Ketogenic and Intermittent Fasting Diets in Normal and Obese Rats

Mentor: Dr. Chaya Gopalan

Robbin

Robin Cummins

Major: English and German

robcumm@siue.edu

Non-Carolingian Letters and Scribal Errors in the Hildebrandslied

Mentor: Douglas Simms

Sarah

Sarah Burt

Major: English/History

sburt@siue.edu 

The Ghosts of Christmas Past: An Analysis of Pre-Dickens Christmas Literature 

Mentor: Dr. Jessica DeSpain

 





For more information on the Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities Program,
contact Dr. Laura Pawlow at (618) 650-2608 or lpawlow@siue.edu.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff