UNIVERSITY STAFF SENATE <u>SPECIAL</u> MEETING International Room, Morris University Center Zoom Meeting ID 945 0315 5890 June 1, 2023 – 9:00am Approved Minutes

The regular meeting of the University Staff Senate was called to order at 9:45 am on Thursday, June 1, 2023 by President Keith Becherer.

Present: Keith Becherer, Kelly Jo Hendricks, Angie White, Cindy Cobetto, Mike Hamil, Sara Colvin, Doug James, Shane Kessinger, Kim Kilgore, Dusty Rhodes, Michael Tadlock-Jackson (ex officio) **Absent**: Denyse Anderson, Carolyn Jason, Darryl Cherry, Jan Caban, John Caupert, Anthony Fearon, Collin Van Meter

Guests: Andreya Ayers, Lawrence Becker, Jeff Chitwood, Jennifer Cottingham, Maria Ferrari, Amie Flatt, Steven Green, Sarah Kirkpatrick, Amy Luttrell, Jessica McCawley, Jeanette Parmenter, Trish Scheibal, Deb Talbot

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

Sara Colvin and Doug James were nominated for President-Elect. They each provided a brief background, and a secret ballot vote was held. Colvin received 6 votes, while James received 10 votes. Doug James was elected President-Elect.

Angie White was nominated for Secretary. There were no other nominations, and she was elected by acclamation.

Cindy Cobetto was nominated as Treasurer. There were no other nominations, and she was elected by acclamation. Amie Flatt volunteered to be a trainee so that she can assist Cindy with this role, and possibly take over in an upcoming election.

ELECTION OF CONSTITUENCY REPRESENTATIVES:

Senators convened in small groups by constituency to conduct their elections for Constituency Representatives. The Administrative Staff Represented constituency group selected Andreya Ayers, the Administrative Staff Non-Represented constituency group selected Sara Colvin, the Civil Service Negotiated and Prevailing constituency group selected Denyse Anderson, and the Civil Service Open Range constituency group selected Steven Green.

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 am.

Submitted by Michael Tadlock-Jackson, University Governance