Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
The Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate
Institutional Header

The Honorary Degree and Distinguished Service Awards Committee is a stating committee of the Faculty Senate Welfare and Governance Council under the Faculty Status Committee.  This committee actively solicits nominations from members of the University community to obtain a diverse pool of qualified candidates.  The committee is composed of four members of the College of Arts and Sciences, one member from the Schools of Business, Dentistry, Education, Engineering, Nursing, and Pharmacy, and one member of the Library faculty; these members are appointed by the Dean and serve three-year terms.  Additional members include annual appointments of one member of the Welfare Council appointed by the Council Chair, one staff member appointed by the Staff Senate President, two students appointed by the Student Senate President, one member appointed by the Chancellor, and one member appointed by the Alumni Association.  The Provost and Vice Chancellor serves as an ex-officio member of the committee.

Honorary Degrees:

A candidate for an Honorary Degree may be any person who has made significant contributions to cultural, educational, scientific, economic, social, humanitarian, or other worthy fields of endeavor.  Degrees may not be awarded to regular or Emeritus/Emerita faculty, administrators, staff, or students in recognition of achievements while employed or enrolled at SIUE.  Holders of political offices selected on a partisan basis or candidates for elective office may be considered under exceptional circumstances.  While some prior association with the State of Illinois may make the nominee especially appropriate, it is not a necessary condition for awarding the degree.

Distinguished Service Awards:

Distinguished Service Awards may be presented to any persons who have given outstanding or unusual service to the University, the region, or the State.  Ordinarily the University recognizes distinguished service on the part of retiring faculty members by awarding Emeritus or Emerita status.  Only in the most outstanding of cases may retired faculty be honored for their contributions.  Faculty, staff members, and students presently employed or enrolled at SIUE, holders of political office selected on a partisan basis, or candidates for elective office may qualify for such awards under exceptional circumstances.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff socialoff