Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
The Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate
Institutional Header

The Teaching Excellence Award and Teaching Distinction Award recognize the central importance of teaching to the mission of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.  The Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, with the assistance of the Faculty Senate, offer awards annually.  Nominations are submitted by students and faculty to the Teaching Excellence Awards Committee (TEAC), which reviews nominations and recommends awardees to the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs.  The Teaching Excellence Award Committee is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate Faculty Development Council.

The TEAC consists of nine full-time faculty representatives on continuing appointment elected by the faculty of their respective school or college and three student representatives.  Faculty members serve two-year terms, and students serve one-year terms.  Elections are held in the spring semester each year.  The Chair of the committee is a faculty member serving the second or subsequent year of his or hear term and is nominated by agreement among the four faculty members whose terms continue into the following year, and the Chair of the Faculty Development Council then appoints the TEAC Chair with the approval of the majority of the Council.  

For more information on the Teaching Excellence Award, including past winners, please visit

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff socialoff