Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Office of Research and Projects

Internal Grants

Graduate Students

Competitive Grants
Vaughnie Lindsay New Investigator Award

Information Session PowerPoint
Download Program Materials
Past Winners

Important Dates

First Wednesday of January:
Applications are due by 4:30 p.m. to the applicant's Department Chair for evaluation. Chair submits directly to School/College Research Committee.

Second Wednesday of January:
Applications due by 4:30 p.m. to the School/College Research Committee for review. Committee submits directly to School/College Dean.

First Friday of February:
Applications due by 4:30 p.m. to the School/College Dean for preparation of Dean Evaluation.

Third Wednesday of February:
School/College Dean submits proposals and evaluations to Graduate School for review by university R&D.

Estimated Announcement Date: Early March


Dr. Stephen Hansen, Graduate School Dean Emeritus, established the Lindsay Research Professorship Endowment that funds the award in honor of Dr. Vaughnie Lindsay, who served as graduate dean from 1973 until 1986 and was responsible for creating much of the infrastructure that supports faculty research and scholarly activity. Faculty and the emeriti faculty at the time of the award's conception donated the funds to endow the award.

Those wishing to help support new investigators through the Vaughnie Lindsay Award may make a donation to the Graduate School section of the endowment at:


The New Investigator Awards are made to tenure-track SIUE faculty members to recognize and support individual programs of research or creative activities. These Awards recognize faculty members whose research or creative activities have the promise of making significant contributions to their fields of study, their respective school/department and to SIUE in general. Recipients are expected to produce published scholarly works/products and externally sponsored grants/contracts.

Definition of Research

Research is broadly defined as all creative, critical, scholarly, and/or empirical activity that expands, clarifies, reorganizes, or develops knowledge or artistic perception. This definition of research includes the demonstration, implementation, application, and dissemination of research results and those grants designated as research by the granting agency. This definition of research does not include departmental curriculum development, faculty development (learning an established technique, a language, or a methodology; dissertation research), institutional research (studies related directly to the operation of the University), and public service and consulting activities.


Eligible applicants must have earned appropriate terminal degrees in their disciplines and have regular full-time tenure track faculty positions at the Assistant Professor level. Eligible junior faculty may apply any time after successful completion of their first year at SIUE and before promotion to Associate Professor. Recipients must be at the Assistant Professor level throughout the duration of their New Investigator award. Previous recipients of the New Investigator Award, or recipients of external awards over $50,000 while at SIUE, are not eligible to apply. All applicants must have submitted completed final reports and fulfilled the terms and conditions, including submission of an external grant proposal, of projects previously funded by the SIUE Graduate School at least 5 business days before this program deadline in order to be eligible for this program.

Nature of Award

Up to two Lindsay New Investigator Awards will be made per year, pending availability of funds. Awards will fund projects that will start on July 1 and end on June 30 of the fiscal year following awarding. These awards are designed to support a significant and discrete portion of a faculty member's larger research agenda. A cost-share equaling 20% of the total award is required from the applicant’s school/department. Each recipient of the New Investigator award will receive $10,000 from the Graduate School and $2,500 from their unit for a total of $12,500 for a one-year period. Summer salary funding is not included in this award. Information about allowable costs are contained in the Program Guidelines. Consult with the program coordinator regarding the eligibility of costs not explicitly mentioned in the program guidelines. 

Other Resources:


Lisa Lawrence
Program Coordinator


Cover Sheet and Checklist

Sample Budget Template

Current Guidelines

For School Administrators: Download School/College Evaluation Form

Information Session PowerPoint

Past Winners

Vaughnie Lindsay New Investigator Awardees

2016 (FY 2017)

Dr. Asha Eapen, Department of Growth, Development and Structure, School of Dental Medicine                                                                                                                        Dr. Sarah Luesse, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts & Sciences

2015 (FY 2016) Huaibo Xin, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, School of Education, Health and Human Behavior
2014 (FY 2015) Pui-Ling "Melissa" Chan, Department of Environmental Sciences, College of Arts & Sciences
2013 (FY 2014)

Dan Welch, Department of Growth, Development and Structure, School of Dental Medicine
Georgiann Davis, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice Studies, College of Arts & Sciences

2012 (FY 2013) Xin Chen, Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, School of Engineering
Jennifer Gapin, Department of Kinesiology, School of Education
2011 (FY 2012) Kristine Hildebrandt, Dept. of English Language and Literature, College of Arts & Sciences
Jason (Jake) Williams, Dept. of Biological Sciences, College of Arts & Sciences
2010 (FY 2011) Edward Navarre, Dept. of Chemistry, College of Arts & Sciences
Jason Stacy, Dept of Historical Studies, College of Arts & Sciences
2009 (FY 2010) Kevin Rowland, Department of Applied Dental Medicine, School of Dental Medicine
Joseph Schober, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy
2008 (FY 2009) Guim Kown, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy
Lucian Stone, Department of Philosophy, College of Arts & Sciences
Vaughnie Lindsay Research Professor Awards
2006 - 2007
(FY 07-08)
Louise Flick, Department of Family and Community Health Nursing, School of Nursing
2005 -2006
(FY 06-07)
Leah O'Brien, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts & Sciences
2004 - 2006
(FY 05-06)
Margaret (Peg) Simons, Department of Philosophy, College of Arts & Sciences
facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff