Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Disability Support Services

Disability Support Services
Institutional Header

Honors Day is held every spring at SIUE. Awards are presented to students based on the sponsor's criteria for the individual awards. The following is a list of the awards and all recipients who have received them. The names of all award recipients have been placed on plaques of honor which are prominently displayed in the Disability Support Services Office located in the Student Success Center, Room 1207. You are always welcome to stop at the DSS Office to see these plaques.

The Paul J. Campisi Award is awarded for academic excellence. The award was established in honor of Paul J. Campisi, who was a professor of Sociology at SIUE. It was the wish of the family at the time of his death in 1995 that this award be established to recognize an outstanding senior student with a disability.

2018 Recipient - Angel Pereda

Two people standing, where a man with eyeglasses is presenting an award to a student wearing blue shirt

List of Recipients

The Ruby Bratten Lions Club Award is also based on academic excellence. The Edwardsville (IL) Lions Club, in honor of Ruby Bratten, sponsors this award. This award is given to recognize a student with a disability who is a senior at SIUE.

2018 Recipient - Sarah Lipford

A man with eyeglass and goatee giving an award to a woman standing to his left with short hair and eyeglasses

List of Recipients

The Rosemary Bratten Lions Club Award is sponsored by the Edwardsvillem IL Lions Club. It is awarded to a sophomore or returning student with a vision or hearing impairment who maintains a grade point average of 2.50 or above.

2018 Recipient - Sarah Love

A man with eyeglass and goatee giving an award to a woman standing on his right with short hair and eyeglasses

List of Recipients

The Noble R. Thompson III Student Disabilities Award. Nobel R. Thompson III was a professor in the Geography Department at SIUE for many years and died in 2001. During his tenure at the university, Noble was an advocate for students with disabilities, particularly students with visual impairments. The student who receives this award must be visually impaired and have the highest grade point average of the students with a visual impairment.

2015 Recipient - James Greer

List of Recipients

The John B. Eiserle Memorial Award Fund was established in 2005 to commemorate John Eiserle's life and dedication to education. The recipient must be a currently enrolled SIUE student who uses a wheelchair and maintains a "B" average.

2018 Recipient - Dalyn Wells

A man in a wheel chair receiving an award from a man to his left with eyeglasses and shaved head

List of Recipients

The Robert Fleming Memorial Award was established after the death of Robert Fleming, a former student at SIUE, and an advocate for persons with disabilities. Although the award was only presented two years, it was awarded to students who exemplified many of the qualities that Robert Fleming hoped people would exhibit toward persons with disabilities. He would have been very proud.

List of Recipients
facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff