Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
College of Arts & Sciences

College of Arts & Sciences
Institutional Header

Birdine Grosbong New Student Scholarship: Incoming freshmen or transfer students of promise who will be declaring as a theater and dance manor are eligible for this one time cash award ranging from $200 to $500. A completed application, letters of recommendation, minimum GPA of 3.0, and an audition/interview in the specialization area are required. Applications are due in the Theater and Dance Office by May 1st.

Provost Fine Arts Scholarships: These tuition grants for either one semester or one year are awarded to students who maintain a 3.0 GPA or better. Several awards are given out annually to student in each of the five department specializations. Students are recommended for this award by their respective faculty. No application is necessary.

Friends of Theater and Dance  (FOTAD) Scholarships and Awards: Criteria for these awards are established by FOTAD. The number and amounts of these awards change annually based on available funding and quality of applications. See the department secretary at the end of December or early January for more information or go to the FOTAD webpage for the application. (The William Best Award in Performance, The William Vilhauer Award in Design/Technical Theater, The Alcine Wiltz Award in Dance).

Dance Excellence in Choreography Award: A $100 award (pending funds) is given to the best student choreographic piece from the Student Dance Concert. The dance faculty selects the recipient.

Department of Theater and Dance Development Fund Awards: This award is given to outstanding students in one or more of the specializations in the Department of Theater and Dance. Awards amount based on available funds.

Ann E. Carlson Award: This award is given in the beginning of the spring semester to help those students who are in financial need. Please let your specific area head know that you are interested in being considered for this award by letting him/her know of your specific financial circumstances.

Lisa Colbert Memorial Award: This memorial award is given annually to any declared Theater and Dance major who best exemplifies the life and work of Lisa Colbert. A 3.0 GPA is required. See the department secretary for information about Lisa Colbert and an application.

Friends of Theater and Dance (FOTAD) Service Grants: Three awards of $100 each are based on service to the department and active participation in productions. Each area's faculty members recommend deserving students. (The Richard Claridge Service Award, The Lynn Kluth Award in Performance, The George Lampman Award in Design/Technical Theater).

John and Eva Morgan Award in Theater: Pending Funds in the account, this award is given to a graduating senior with the best overall GPA and service to the department.GEO and PREMIER Out-Of-State Tuition Savings Program: For talented students recommended by the department. Audition and interview is required.

Curtain's Up Technical Theater Award: This technical award is given to a deserving design/technical theater student who shows excellence in this area. A 3.0 GPA is required as is a portfolio presentation and interview. See the department secretary for an application.

St. Louis Brotherhood of Stage Hands (IATSE): This award is given to an outstanding student in the design/technical area, as funds are available. Students are recommended for this award by the design/technical theater faculty. No applications are necessary.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff