Second Annual SIUE Social Work Gala March 1, 2008



Dean Kent Neely and his wife Esther enjoy conversation with Avery Springer, wife of Associate Dean Carl Springer.



Former Chair of the Department of Social Work, Dr. Venessa Brown (seated), and Marissa Genovese Slater (BS '96 EL ED, MSW '05



Apparently, male guests at the Gala preferred to <u>browse</u> the beautiful silent auction items ...



but Carol Ann Worthington preferred decisive action.



Department Chair Gerald O'Brien presents the Outstanding Alumni Award to Angela Scott of the Alton School District (BS '97 Social Work, MSW '02)



Nancy Vetter Staten (left) presents the Social Worker of the Year Award to Ann King, Hoyleton Children & Family Services



Above: Keynote speaker Vickie Newton of KMOV Channel 4 News enjoyed the evening as much as the alumni, faculty, and community guests.



Faculty Kathleen Tunney (far right) enjoys visiting with Melanie and Wietse Schaafsman.



Deborah Vogel (left) presented the Health Service Award to Pat Peverly of Anderson Hospital in Maryville, IL.



Faculty Kellene Hamilton (left) presents the Social Work Humanitarian Award to Marie Gibbons of Oasis Women's Center in Alton, IL.





Stephanie Young (left) received the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award and Darren Dunahee (left) z(BS '07 SW) was selected to receive the Outstanding Graduate Student Award.



Award honorees for 2008: (Left to right) Pat Peverly of Anderson Hospital, Community Health Award; Ann Schweaggert of ABL Pregnancy Center in Collinsville, Children and Family Community Service Award; Angelea Scott, Alton School District, Outstanding Alumni Award; Darren Dunhahee, Outstanding Graduate Student Award; Anne King, Hoyleton Youth and Family Services, Outstanding Social Worker Award; Vickie Newton, KMOV Channel 4; Marie Gibbons, Oasis Womens Center in Alton, Humanitarian of the Year Award; Stephanie Young, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award.



Left to right: Vickie Newton, KMOV Channel 4 News, poses with the Social Work Gala Committee members including Gerald O'Brien, Chair; Jerry Staten (BS '77 Sociology); Nancy Vetter Staten; Judy Zimmerman, Department Secretary; Jane Vest; Deborah Vogel; Kellene Hamilton, Shirley Rakers; and Sandra Becker-Warden.