SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING

5TH ANNUAL AWARDS BANQUET



TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 2011



WELCOME

6:00 Reception Cash bar service

JESC Guest Table for tickets, parking code, guest list

6:30 Welcoming remarks

6:45 Dinner Served

7:15 Dean Sevim's Address

ADDRESS

7:30 Edward C. Gradv Chief Executive officer of REEL Solar BS Urban Environmental Engineering

INTRODUCTIONS & AWARDS PRESENTATION

Outstanding Student, Alumnus, and Teaching 7:45 Excellence Awards Outstanding Research Award

END OF EVENING

9:00 Closing Remarks

GROUP ANATOLIA

Group Anatolia plays a mixture of Turkish folk and classical songs. Two of the members are SIUE Alumni; Hande Berk received her M.S. in Economy and Finance in 2002, and Nuri Soylu received his M.S. in Mechanical Engineering also in 2002. The third member, Dr. Ilker Tunay, is a 1999 Washington University Mathematics graduate. Hande plays oud, Nuri plays bağlama and guitar, and ilker plays bouzouki, mandolin, and drum.

OUTSTANDING STUDENT, ALUMNUS, AND TEACHING EXCELLENCE AWARDS PRESENTATION JESC Officers

CIVIL ENGINEERING

Junior: Melissa Strzelczyk

Senior: Andy Mueller

Graduate Student: Michael Williamson

Alumnus: Scott Miller **Faculty:** Dr. Brad Cross

CONSTRUCTION

Junior: Kaitlin Schmitting Senior: Clinton Murphy Alumnus: Ken Cates

Faculty: Dr. Marcelo Azambuja

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Junior: Matthew Lawson Senior: Kimberly Slattery

Graduate Student: Susanna Siebert

Alumnus: Paul Scheibal **Faculty:** Socratis Tornartis

ELECTRICAL & COMPUTER ENGINEERING

Junior: Brandon Richard Margaritis Senior: German Omar Rivera De La Torre

Graduate Student: Wei Wu Alumnus: Steve Muren Faculty: Dr. Scott Umbaugh

INDUSTRIAL & MANUFACTURING ENGINEERING

Junior: Jared Schneider

Senior: Paul Cayo

Graduate Student: Joseph Hodskins

Alumnus: Jeff Bothe

Faculty: Dr. Kevin Hubbard

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

Junior: Nathan Rohner Senior: Kyle Mansfield

Graduate Student: Patricia Streufert

Alumnus: Jerrod Hock Faculty: Dr. Serdar Celik

OUTSTANDING RESEARCH AWARD PRESENTATION

Jerry Weinberg, Acting Dean of the Graduate School and

Associate Provost for Research

Dr. Sohyung Cho Dr. Huaguo Zhou



KEYNOTE ADDRESS

EDWARD C. GRADY



Edward C. Grady is Chairman and Chief Executive officer of REEL Solar, an early stage startup company in Silicon Valley that has developed a unique low cost technology to produce solar panels. Prior to this he was President and Chief Executive officer of Brooks Automation in Chelmsford MA. Prior to joining

Brooks in 2003, he successfully ran the wafer inspection group and the metrology groups each with multiple divisions at KLA-Tencor and was CEO of Micromask, a supplier of photomasks and services to the semiconductor industry. He started his career as an engineer for Monsanto / MEMC and eventually rose to the position of vice president of worldwide sales. Mr. Grady is currently a director at Advanced Energy Inc., Verigy Ltd., Electro Scientific Inc., Evergreen Solar Inc., Molecular Imprints Inc., and Finesse Solution Ltd. He is Chairman of the Board and serves on the audit and compensation committees at Evergreen Solar. He is Chairman of the board at Molecular Imprints Inc. He is chair of the compensation committee for Verigy Ltd., and serves on the compensation committees at Advanced Energy and ESI, and also serves on the technology committee at ESI. He also guest lectures at Boston College Carroll School in management, in business development and leadership. His undergraduate studies were at Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville in Urban Environmental Engineering, and he received his MBA from University of Houston and follow on Executive MBA from Stanford University.

DONORS AND SPONSORS

Special thanks are in order to those who have made tonight possible for our students.

PREMIER SPONSORS

Thank you to the evening's premier sponsors.

Ed and Karen Grady Mark Grinter Hal and Jean Gentry Oates Associates, Inc.

The School of Engineering would like to extend its sincere appreciation to all of you for generously sponsoring ten or more student tickets.

SPONSORS Kate Betz

Dennis Bouvier Geri Boyer Bryon Ehlmann George Engel Melissa Glauber Kay Guse Jim Heinz Steve Klein Alfred Korn Andy Lozowski Gary Mayer Scott Miller Paul Seaburg Hasan Sevim Paul Shetley Buddy Waxman Jerry Weinberg Anne Werner John Wootton Luis Youn

