Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
URCA Header


Congratulations to the winners of the Fall 2014 URCA Assistant Program Awards!!

Vaughn Vandegrift URCA Assistant Research Mentor of the Semester Award


Dr. Song Foh Chew, Department of Mathematics and Statistics  

Nominated by: Thomas Teague

"Dr. Chew has been an absolute pleasure to work with and I can only hope that my future supervisors and colleagues are comparable. Dr. Chew's breadth of knowledge and ability as a mentor, in my opinion, elevate him above his contemporaries in the URCA program. He is able to maintain a perfect balance between providing me with expert guidance and allowing a large degree of autonomy. I sincerely believe Dr. Chew is an exceptional member of this already outstanding group of professors and fully deserving of recognition" 

Vaughn Vandegrift URCA Assistant Research Mentor of the Semester Award


Dr. Lindsay Ross-Stewart, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education

Nominated by: Alexa Knuth 

"Dr. Ross-Stewart has not only gone above and beyond her position as an URCA mentor, but has had a huge role in creating my undergraduate experience at SIUE and assisted in paving my future. Dr. Lindsay Ross-Stewart has been a remarkable mentor and supervisor. Quite simply, she is excellent!"

URCA Research Assistant of the Semester Award


Joseph GackstetterAnthropology

Nominated by: Dr. Julie Zimmermann Holt

"Joseph is methodical and hard-working; he is also intelligent, creative, and incidentally, he wants to make a difference in the world. His contributions to my research cannot be underestimated: I could not have accomplished this work without him. Indeed, I consider him to be more than an assistant: Joseph is my colleague. I cannot recommend Joseph more highly for this award. Students like Joseph are what make my job a dream come true, and I will miss him as both my student and my research assistant when he graduates." 

URCA Research Assistant of the Semester Award 


Lynsey Gore, Pharmaceutical Science

Nominated by: Dr. Marcelo Nieto 

"Lynsey has been very driven and kept [her] project going despite considerable frustration. She has a very good attitude and it is a pleasure to work with her. I truly believe she deserves recognition." 

Other nominees:


Dr. Mark Poepsel, Mass Communication
Nominated by
Sarah Badman

Dr. Sarah Luesse, Chemistry
Nominated by
Katlyn Hausman

Dr. Victoria Scott, Curriculum and Instruction
Nominated by
Levi Molenhour

Dr. Jeremy Jewell, Psychology
Nominated by
Haley Pemberton

Dr. Robert Ware, Philosophy
Nominated by 
Corey Huber

Dr. Chin-Chuan Wei, Chemistry
Nominated by
Dallas Wright


Connor Whitley
Nominated by
Dr. Fengxia Wang, Mechanical Engineering

Jacob Ott
Nominated by
Dr. Ayse Evrensel, Economics and Finance

Levi Molenhour
Nominated by
Dr. Victoria Scott, Curriculum and Instruction

Jessie Pavlak
Nominated by
Dr. Caroline Pryor, Curriculum and Instruction

Victoria Mizel
Nominated by
Dr. Victoria Scott, Curriculum and Instruction

Spring 2014 Award Winners
Fall 2013 Award Winners
Spring 2013 Award Winners
Fall 2012 URCA Award Winners
Spring 2012 URCA Award Winners
Fall 2011 URCA Award Winners

For more information about the URCA program,
contact Dr. Laura Pawlow at 618-650-2608 or
The calls for nominations for these awards go out mid-fall and mid-spring.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff foursquareoff socialoff