Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
University Governance
University Governance
Institutional Header

University Wide Committees

The Faculty Senate appoints senators or faculty to a number of university wide committees. The terms of the committee seats are set in each committee's operating papers and depending on the time when the appointments are made, each of the terms may expire at different times during the year. Thus, the appointments are made sporadically throughout the year. (last update February 16, 2016)

Faculty Senate


Staff Senate

Igor Crk

Elizabeth Moreton

Yuping Zeng

Admission Review Committee

 Jeffrey Sabby
September 2013 to TBD


Brad Cross
August 15, 2014

Roberta Harrison
August 15, 2014

Julie Pietroburgo
August 15, 2014

CHAPA (Committee for Higher Administrator Performance Appraisal)
The committee will consist of five faculty representatives appointed by the constituency senate presidents. Faculty will serve staggered three year terms and will not be appointed to more than two successive three year terms.

Dawn East
June 30, 2014

Nate Scott
June 30, 2014

Past President

Tim Schoenecker

Enrollment Management Council

 Radhika Devraj

Melissa Burel

Soondo Kweon

Karen Kelly

Dwight McLeod

Kathryn Brady (for Allison Fahsl)

Rakesh Bharati

Katherine Poole-Jones 2018

Faculty Salary Equity Committee

The Faculty Salary Equity Committee is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate Welfare Council. It is an advisory committee to the Faculty Senate.

Steve Kerber

Faculty Staff Development Committee (ITS)

To work with the Office of the Provost to develop and promote programs relating to faculty roles and responsibilities in the areas of teaching, scholarship, and service, such as the Fall Faculty Symposium, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning initiatives, and Faculty conversations.

Janice Joplin, chair
Jessica Kerr

Honorary and Distinguished Service Awards Committee
The SIUE Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Service Awards Committee actively solicits nominations from members of the university community to obtain a diverse pool of qualified candidates for these awards. This committee is a standing committee of the Welfare Council of the Faculty Senate and includes representatives from each university constituency.

Cindy Cobetto

Susan D. Wiediger

IBHE-FAC (Illinois Board of Higher Education-Faculty Advisory Council)

Robert Dixon

Jessica Harris

Anne Powell

Randy Pearson

Thad Meeks

Jennifer Miller

Andy Griffin

Mark Grinter

ICAC (Intercollegiate Athletic Committee)
The Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics is constituted as a free-standing committee of the University.

Michelle Welter

Kevin Schmoll

James Schram

Doug McIlhagga

Faculty Senate President
Stacie Kirk 2015-2016

MLK, Jr. Celebration Planning Committee
Plans and coordinates promotions and activities for Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration

Staff Senate President
Cynthia Cobetto 2015-2016

Ryan Fries

Belinda Carstens-Wickham

George Pelekanos

Matt Petrocelli

Parking & Traffic Committee
The purpose of the Parking and Traffic Committee is to consider the needs, convenience and safety of the entire University community related to traffic flow and parking. This includes participation in the planning of parking facilities, the development of appropriate policies and review of enforcement procedures. Members conduct appeal hearings relating to enforcement of parking regulations and respond to complaints from the University community.

Laura Scaturro (Chair)

Bill Dusenbery

Jim McDermott

Kirt Ormesher

Katie Sjursen

PRIME Committee

 Anne M. Werner

Summer Bridge and Conditional Admissions Committee 

Charles Berger 

Summer Session Enrollment Task Force  

Kim Archer (Chair) 2014-2016-CAS

Sungho Kim 2014-2016-BUS

Terri Poirier 2014-2016-PHARM

Soondo Kweon 2014-2016-ENR

Lindsay Ross-Stewart 2015-2017-SEHHB

Medha Gautam 2015-2017 SDM

Jennifer Miller 2015-2017 CAS

Melissa Burel 2015-2017 LIS

Mary Barron 2015-2017 NURS

Mary Rose 2015-2017 LIS

Katherine Poole 2016-2018 CAS

Teaching Excellence Award Committee

Operating Papers

Cindy Traub

Teaching, Scholarship and Service Committee(ITS)

David Jennings
August 2016

UCB (University Center Board)

The University Center Board (UCB) serves as an advisory board and functions as the primary recommending body to the Director regarding building services, fees, and policies for the Morris University Center.

Kirt Ormesher
August 2016

Faculty Senate President Elect
University Fellowship and Scholarship Committee
The University Fellowship and Scholarship Committee handles all matters dealing with extra-university fellowships and scholarships. The charge to the committee is to interview applicants and to recommend nominees for extra-university fellowships and scholarships where applicants require an institutional recommendation or support, whether the applicants are undergraduates, graduate students, or faculty. The membership of this committee shall be composed of the Provost, the President of the Faculty Senate, and three full-time teaching faculty members appointed by the Chancellor for three-year staggered terms.
Staff Senate President Elect

Faculty Senate President
Stacie Kirk

UQC (University Quality Council)

The University Quality Council (UQC) is vital to creating and sustaining quality improvement for SIUE. Because planning is an essential element of quality, the UQC was formed to provide ongoing vision, guidance, and support related to issues of quality and continuous improvement.

Staff Senate President
Cindy Cobetto

Morris Taylor (Chair)
June 30, 2016

Nancy Lutz 
June 30, 2017

Stephen Marlette 
June 30, 2017

Tom Foster (FS Past Pres.)
August 15, 2016

Kenneth Moffett
 June 30, 2018

Rakesh Bharati
June 30, 2016


UPBC (University Planning & Budget Committee)
The University Planning and Budget Council (UPBC) is a constituency-based group of 16 members that advise the Chancellor on matters related to the budget and allocation of future resources. The UPBC meets regularly and through open and honest dialogue assists the Chancellor in guiding the financial planning of the University.

Kenneth Holbert
 June 30, 2017

John Caupert(SS Past Pres.) 
June 30, 2016

Norris Manning
June 30, 2018

Faculty Senate

Standing Committees

Staff Senate


Faculty Grievance Committee
This Faculty Grievance Policy, as authorized by the Board of Trustees of Southern Illinois University, provides a means for faculty to resolve disputes between members of the Southern Illinois University Edwardsville community quickly and fairly.

Zenia Agustin(Director)

Matthew Schunke, Chair

Jessica Harris, Interim Chair (spring 2016)

Eric Voss

Melodie Rowbotham

Cathy Daus

Jingyi Jia

Garrett Schmidt
Nicholas Raftopoulous (student)
General Education Committee
SIUE's General Education Program-the Lincoln Program-plays a significant, foundational and guiding role in preparing students to meet the standards contained above in the Objectives of the Baccalaureate Degree. Why is it called the Lincoln Program? There are several ways in which Abraham Lincoln embodies the purposes of baccalaureate education at SIUE. Mostly self educated, he took responsibility for his own education and this experience instilled in him a deep-seated respect for learning. Lincoln understood that education has utility and value for both the individual and the society.

Anne Kates (Chair)

Graduation Appeals Committee
facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff