Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
The Staff Senate

The Staff Senate
Institutional Header
The University Staff Senate represents Civil Service and Professional Staff of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. Employees who are represented by labor organizations as well as employees who are not represented can participate on the University Staff Senate, its panels or committees. The University Staff Senate manages two scholarship funds: The University Staff Senate Scholarship and the Faculty for Collective Bargaining Scholarship Fund. Civil Service and Professional Staff employees participate in the governance of the University via the senate and its panels. All senate and panel members are elected officers. Consider service to your constituency group and the University by participating on the University Staff Senate or its respective panels. Contact the University Staff Senate at

Committee and Panel Reports:

This link is provided for Senate and University Wide Committee chairs; and Panels chairs to use when submitting a report for Staff Senate meetings. Please, find a Word document that you can save for future use for submitting a report to the Staff Senate president. Please, submit on the Friday prior to a Staff Senate meeting and cc the Governance Secretary so the reports can be filed with meeting minutes and agenda. . SCHEDULE

Fundraiser held May 9, 2017 at Texas Roadhouse

 Discounts offered to SIUE employees

Check back occasionally for updates on discounts.

Standing Committees

uni wide

In order to serve on one of these committees, it is not necessary to be a senator. Staff Senate appoints staff to the following committees:

Staff Senate Summer 2018 Scholarship

Congratulations to two Summer 2018 Scholarship Awardees!

Margaret Haas, $1000.00, daughter of Stacey Haas, from Lovejoy Library

Taylor Hansen, $500.00, daughter of Trish Hansen from the Registrar's Office

Alexis Acoff, $250.00, daughter of Fannie Acoff from the Admissions' Office

Faculty for Collective Bargaining 2018 Scholarship

Congratulations to two Spring 2018 Scholarship Awardees!

Amanda Lotter $500.00 daughter of Deanna Lotter from the School of Business

Avalyn Mosby $500.00 daughter of Almetta Mosby from Health Services

Best wishes and good luck in your academic endeavors.

Staff Senate
Fall 2017 Scholarship


Jack Desse $500.00 - Grandson of Gary Smith, School of Dental Medicine, Accountant

Grace McBride $500.00 - Granddaughter of Sandy Compton, retired from the School of Nursing

Margaret Haas $1000.00 - Daughter of Stacey L. Haas, TAS, Lovejoy Library

Staff Senate Summer 2017 Scholarship


Allison Smolar $1000 - daughter of Carrie Smolar, Assistant Director, Career Development Center

Faculty for Collective Bargaining 2017 Scholarship

No scholarships awarded for Spring 2017.

Staff Senate Fall 2016 Scholarship 


Taryn Alstat $1000 - grandaughter of Brenda Newton from Campus Recreation

Jordan Conrad $500 - daughter of Nina Conrad, CAS Deans Office

Best wishes and good luck in your academic endeavors!

Staff Senate Summer 2016 Scholarship 


The Staff Senate awards two students $500.00 each:

Samuel W. Haas, son of Stacey Haas from Lovejoy Library

Amanda R. Lotter, daughter of Deanna Lotter from the School of Business

Best wishes and good luck in your academic endeavors!

Faculty for Collective Bargaining Spring 2016 Scholarship 


The Staff Senate awards two students $750.00 each:

Amanda Lotter, daughter of Deanna Lotter, Office Manager from the School of Business, AFSCME

Stacey Pettit, daughter of Mary Ann B. Petti, Instructor from the Department of Economics and Finance, Member of Non-Tenure Track Faculty Association, Full-time Faculty

Best wishes and good luck in your academic endeavors!

Staff Senate Fall 2015 Scholarship

CONGRATULATIONS to three new Fall 2015 Scholarship Awardees!

Allison Buchmiller $1000 - daughter of Susan Buchmiller of Financial Aid

Kaitlyn Frisbee $500 - daughter of Michelle Frisbee of Office of Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Gage Geiger $500 - son of Paula Geiger of Office of the Bursar

Staff Senate 2015 Summer Scholarship

Congratulations to the Summer 2015 Scholarship Awardee! 

The Staff Senate awarded a $1000 Summer 2015 Staff Senate Scholarship to Morgan Strom, daughter of Laura Strom from the Office of the Registrar.

Best wishes and good luck in your academic endeavors!

Faculty for Collective Bargaining Spring 2015 Scholarship


The Staff Senate awards three students $300.00 each:

Nicholos Caban, son of Susan Caban from the Registrar's Office

Kayla Thompson, daughter of Kelly Thompson-Hess from Student Financial Aid Office

Madison Knezik-Smith, granddaughter of Jo Ellen Caia from Educational Outreach

Best wishes and good luck in your academic endeavors!

University Staff Senate 2014 Fall Scholarship

Congratulations! Two students have each been awarded a $1000 Fall Scholarship.  Nicholas Caban, son of Jan (Facilities) and Susan (Registrar) Caban, AND Jack Desse, grandson of

retiree Gary Smith (School of Dental Medicine) have been selected for a Staff Senate Scholarship this fall. An award presentation will take place at the October 2 Staff Senate meeting in the

Willow Room, Morris University Center. Thanks goes to the Scholarship Selection Committee for their service to this worthy task.

Staff Senate Summer 2014 Scholarship 


The Staff Senate awarded a $500.00 Summer 2014 Staff Senate Scholarship to Gabrielle Geiger, daughter of Paula Geiger (Bursar) in the Chancellor's Office, Friday, May 2, 2014. Congratulations, Gabrielle!!

The Staff Senate would like to thank all the applicants and encourage all eligible applicants to apply again in the future.  Look for the 2014 Fall Scholarship announcement sometime in June. 


Past Presidents Event

The Staff Senate honored its past presidents who are currently SIUE employees at the December 2, 2010 regular meeting.

Left to right front row: Brian W. Lotz (2008-2009), Mary Rast (1994-1995), Gary Dunn (2001-2002), Jesse B. Harris, Jr. (1989-1990),
Michael W. Pulley (current). Back row: Todd Bartholomew (2007-2008), Mick Ostrander (1999-2000),
Eric Barnett (1997-1998 and 2000-2001). Not pictured: Shrylene Clark Langston (1998-1999) and Joe Loring (2003-2005)

Thank you!

Thanks to everyone for your interest and support for the University Staff Senate.

If you have a chance, thank a Senator for all their time and service to the University as a result of serving on the University Staff Senate.

Items & Issues

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff