Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
The Staff Senate
The Staff Senate
Institutional Header

Staff Senate

The University Staff Senate represents Civil Service and Professional Staff of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. Employees who are represented by labor organizations as well as employees who are not represented can participate on the University Staff Senate, its panels or committees. The University Staff Senate manages two scholarship funds: The University Staff Senate Scholarship and the Faculty for Collective Bargaining Scholarship Fund. Civil Service and Professional Staff employees participate in the governance of the University via the senate and its panels. All senate and panel members are elected officers. Consider service to your constituency group and the University by participating on the University Staff Senate or its respective panels. Contact the University Staff Senate at


University Staff Senate 2014 Fall Scholarship

Congratulations! Two students have each been awarded a $1000 Fall Scholarship.  Nicholas Caban, son of Jan (Facilities) and Susan (Registrar) Caban, AND Jack Desse, grandson of retiree Gary Smith (School of Dental Medicine) have been selected for a Staff Senate Scholarship this fall. An award presentation will take place at the October 2 Staff Senate meeting in the Willow Room, Morris University Center. Thanks goes to the Scholarship Selection Committee for their service to this worthy task.



University Staff Senate 2014 Elections  

Congratulations to the new and re-elected Senators, Officers and Panel Members
Terms begin September 1, 2014      

See profile page for contact information

A.     Election Results Announced

      1. Civil Service Negotiated & Prevailing (elected)

                       i.      Kirt Ormesher - Senator

                      ii.      Todd Bartholomew – Senator

B.     Elected by Acclamation

      1. East St. Louis –Senator (any constituency)

                       i.      Shrylene Clark Langston - Senator (Admin/Prof Staff –non-rep)

      2.  Civil Service Negotiated & Prevailing

                       i.      Clyde A. Trucks II -  Panel

                      ii.      Barbara Randle - Panel

      3. Civil Service Open Range

                       i.      Brian Lotz - Panel

C.     Officers and Panel Chairs

      1. President Elect: Cynthia Cobetto

      2. Secretary:  William Dusenbery

      3. Negotiated & Prevailing Panel Chair: Todd Bartholomew

      4. Open Range Panel Chair:  Mike Hamil

      5. Admin/Prof Panel Chair:  Gretchen Fricke


 Summer 2014 Staff Senate Scholarship 


The Staff Senate awarded a $500.00 Summer 2014 Staff Senate Scholarship to Gabrielle Geiger, daughter of Paula Geiger (Bursar) in the Chancellor's Office, Friday, May 2, 2014. Congratulations, Gabrielle!!

The Staff Senate would like to thank all the applicants and encourage all eligible applicants to apply again in the future.  Look for the 2014 Fall Scholarship announcement sometime in June.


Past Presidents Event

The Staff Senate honored its past presidents who are currently SIUE employees at the December 2, 2010 regular meeting.

Left to right front row: Brian W. Lotz (2008-2009), Mary Rast (1994-1995), Gary Dunn (2001-2002), Jesse B. Harris, Jr. (1989-1990),
Michael W. Pulley (current). Back row: Todd Bartholomew (2007-2008), Mick Ostrander (1999-2000),
Eric Barnett (1997-1998 and 2000-2001). Not pictured: Shrylene Clark Langston (1998-1999) and Joe Loring (2003-2005)

Thank you!

Thanks to everyone for your interest and support for the University Staff Senate.

If you have a chance, thank a Senator for all their time and service to the University as a result of serving on the University Staff Senate.

Items & Issues

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff foursquareoff socialoff