Apply to SIUE
School of Pharmacy


Graduate Students

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

The Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences is composed of 14 full-time faculty representing the disciplines of:

  • Medicinal chemistry
  • Pharmaceutics
  • Pharmacogenomics
  • Pharmacology
  • Social and administrative sciences

The Department is responsible for teaching the basic sciences component of the doctor of pharmacy curriculum. Faculty in the department teach introductory courses in:

  • Principles of drug action
  • Biopharmaceutics
  • Biochemistry
  • Health care and financial management
  • Human resources management
  • Genomics and molecular genetics

Additionally, departmental faculty teach the medicinal chemistry and pharmacology segments of the four-semester integrated therapeutics sequence. Most faculty in the department have prior academic experience or extensive postdoctoral training.

Although no graduate program exists, the Department has actively engaged professional Pharm.D. students and undergraduates from other departments on campus in faculty-directed research. Medicinal chemistry and pharmacology faculty hold adjunct appointments in the Department of Chemistry or Department of Biology and direct M.S. thesis research. Departmental faculty have successfully directed the thesis research of nine M.S. students from the Departments of Chemistry and Biology, respectively. The department is housed in University Park 220, a 15,000-square-foot building adjacent to a separate facility containing School of Pharmacy administrative offices and classrooms.

The department occupies laboratory space in the biotechnology incubator laboratory in University Park. The laboratories are fully equipped to perform molecular biology, biochemistry, drug delivery and medicinal chemistry research. Recent additions to our research infrastructure include a Waters Alliance-SQ 3100 LCMS, a JEOL ECS 400 MHz NMR, and molecular modeling software and hardware. Grants from the National Science Foundation, The Institute for the Study of Aging and the National Institutes of Health have been made to departmental faculty over the past four years. Departmental faculty are engaged in collaborative research with investigators at Washington University, St. Louis University, Southern Illinois University Medical School, Rutgers University and other SIUE departments.

The Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences is dedicated to excellence in teaching in the doctor of pharmacy curriculum, pursuing meaningful research and scholarship, and performing quality service to the University, School of Pharmacy, community and professional organizations. We have an energetic and productive faculty, and we are fully confident that our Department will continue to grow and develop as the SIUE School of Pharmacy matures.

SIUE School of Pharmacy
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Campus Box 2000
Edwardsville, IL 62026-2000

(618) 650‑5150
Fax: (618) 650‑5163

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]