Apply to SIUE
Graduate School
Graduate School

Graduate Council

Minutes of

May 6, 2011

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marcus Agustin, Sarah Bailey, Kathy Behm for Linda Carlisle, Scott Belobrajdic, Rakesh Bharati, Chair, David Duvernell, Carole Frick, Roberta Harrison, Poonam Jain, Gertrude Pannirselvam, Joe Schober, Michael Shaw, Mariana Solares, Jerry Weinberg, Terry Yan

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Steffany Chleboun


GUESTS: Christa Johnson, Associate Dean, The Graduate School
Lynn Maurer, Associate Dean, The Graduate School
Ron Schaefer, Director, International Programs

I. Announcements

A. Final Report of the 2010-11 Course Review Committee

The report was distributed.

B. Graduate School Annual Review

Acting Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, Jerry Weinberg, gave a brief overview of the Graduate Council's accomplishments during the 2010 - 2011 academic year.

C. Other Announcements

Christa Johnson announced that Kristine Hildebrandt, English Language and Literature, and Jason Williams, Biological Sciences won the Vaughnie Lindsay Research Awards. Johnson is working on two websites, including the SIUE Researcher, which will replace the Research Highlights website. She is also working on the Distinguished Scholar's Council. The Council met and discussed ideas to raise visibility of research on campus.

Jerry Weinberg announced that the IRS informed the university that it will begin taxing tuition waivers on assistantships that fall into the "general" category, but the student may earn up to $5,250 before the waiver becomes taxable. Those graduate assistants who have 50% assistantships in research or teaching will be exempt. The IRS is holding the University responsible for taxes on the waivers that have been distributed during the past two years. The Graduate School is changing the appointment forms to reflect the new law. Weinberg also submitted a proposal to Council of Graduate Schools regarding the STEM programs on campus. He announced that his appointment has been extended through the Spring term.

II. Approval of Minutes of April 15, 2011

The minutes were amended to reflect that Marcus Agustin was standing in for Chair, Rakesh Bharati. The minutes were unanimously approved as amended.

III. Report of the Executive Committee

Rakesh Bharati reported that the Council did not conduct an annual evaluation of the Graduate Dean this year because the Provost's office did not request it. For the record, Bharati felt that Weinberg did an outstanding job in his role as Acting Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School.

IV. Report of the Programs Committee

A. Final Report of the 2010-11 Programs Committee

The final report is on BlackBoard. The Council approved the report unanimously.

V. Report of the Educational and Research Policies Committee

A. Final Report of the 2010-11 ERP Committee

The final report is on BlackBoard. The Council approved the report unanimously.

B. Policy on Professional Development Sequences

The Committee recommended a minor change, clarifying that there may be no substitutions for courses taken "toward" a PDS.

Carole Frick made a motion to approve, Mike Shaw seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

C. ICR Distribution Policy

The current practice is that ICR goes to the unit where the PI is located. The collaborators do not receive a share. The proposed policy would ask proposal writers to submit a statement explicitly detailing how the funds would be split. In the absence of such a statement, the default is to split the ICR equally between units. This practice may help to break down barriers to interdisciplinary collaboration.

The Council approved this proposal unanimously.

D. Graduate Council Operating Papers

The Operating Papers were amended to clarify the choice of alternates and proxies, and to change the Dean's role from acting as Secretary of the Graduate Council to "provid[ing] administrative support for" it.

The Council approved the amendments unanimously.

VI. Research and Projects Advisory Board (RPAB) Election

Andrew Neath, of Mathematics and Statistics, and Poonam Jain, of Growth, Development and Structure, were elected to three year terms.

VII. Research and Development (R & D) Committee Election

The following faculty members were elected to the R&D Committee:

Life Sciences, Nursing, Pharmacy, Dental Medicine

Richard Brugam, Biological Sciences, term expires 2013

Z. Q. Lin, Biological Sciences, term expires 2012*

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Mike Shaw, Chemistry, term expires 2013

Urzsula Ledzewicz, Mathematics and Statistics, term expires 2012**

Social Sciences, Business and Education

Christopher Rosnick, Psychology, term expires 2014

Jeremy Jewell, Psychology, term expires 2012

Arts and Humanities

Jennifer Miller, Historical Studies, term expires 2014***

Sorin Nastasia, Speech Communication, term expires 2012

* Replaced by Melodie Rowbotham, Family Health & Community Health Nursing

** Replaced by Song Foh Chew, Mathematics and Statistics

***Replaced by Olga Bezhanova, Foreign Languages and Literature

Three of those elected resigned from the committee in August, 2011 and were replaced by those faculty who received the next highest number of votes in their categories.

VIII. Next Year's Executive Committee

Mike Shaw nominated David Duvernell to chair the ERP; Agustin seconded. Agustin made a motion to close the nominations; Shaw seconded. Duvernell was unanimously elected. Carole Frick nominated Gertrude Pannirselvam to serve as the chair of the Programs Committee; Shaw seconded. Agustin made a motion to close the nominations; Shaw seconded. Pannirselvam was unanimously elected. The Council decided to wait until next year's first meeting to hold an election for the Vice Chair/Chair-elect.

IX. Next Year's Committees: Volunteers for the Programs Committee and the Educational and Research Policies (ERP) Committee

Those present who are returning next year wished to remain on the committees on which they are currently serving.

X. Continuing Business

There was no continuing business.

XI. New Business

Agustin thanked Jerry Weinberg for all his work this year, and thanked Chris Kessler for her support.

XII. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:12 AM.

Respectfully submitted by

Jerry B. Weinberg
Acting Associate Provost for Research and
Dean, The Graduate School

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]