Apply to SIUE
Graduate School
Graduate School


Minutes of

November 7th, 2008

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marcus Agustin, Scott Belobrajdic, Rakesh Bharati, Linda Carlisle, Laura Fowler, M. Jane Gillespie, Steve Hansen, Stephanie McAndrews, Steve McCommas, Michael Shaw, Mariana Solares, Erin Timpe, Valerie Yancey

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Gameli Kumasi, G. Stacey Staples, Jianpeng Zhou

GUESTS: Dennis Bouvier, Assistant Professor, Computer Science
Christa Johnson, Associate Dean, Office of Research and Projects
Ronald Schaefer, Associate Dean, The Graduate School

I. Announcements

Associate Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School Stephen Hansen announced that there were 178 participants in the recent Graduate School Fair, held on November 5, 2008. Scott Belobrajdic, the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management, announced that graduate applications and enrollment figures have increased since the Fall 2008 figures were determined. There is a 33% increase in applications and a 52% increase in graduate students admitted for Fall 2009.

The Council also thanked Shunfu Hu, Associate Professor of Geography, for filling in for Professor Fowler while she was on maternity leave.

II. Approval of Minutes of October 3rd, 2008

Mike Shaw made a motion to approve the minutes; Rakesh Bharati seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

III. Report of the Executive Committee

The Executive Committee did not meet.

IV. Report of the Programs Committee

A. Form 91A - Computer Science (ENG-08-024)

The graduate program wished to add a prerequisite, that a student entering the program from a non-accredited program "will be required to take [CS 409] as a condition of their approval to the program" to "[ensure] entering graduate students have covered essential design, programming, and software engineering skills necessary for advanced studies in computer science." One of the reasons for the change is to alleviate some of the load on faculty, who find themselves advising on a one on one basis for remedial concerns. The program asks that this change be effective in Spring of 2009. This change will not require any additional staff or faculty.

The request passed unanimously.

B. Form 91A - Nursing: Nurse Practitioner MS (SON-G-08-011)

C. Form 91A - Nursing: Nurse Practitioner Post-Masters (SON-G-08-012)

The graduate program requests that the name of its specialization be changed from Nurse Practitioner to Family Nurse Practitioner. Per the request form, "The accrediting bodies for the Nurse Practitioner program (National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculty (NONPF) and Collegiate Commission for Nursing Education (CCNE)) require, as of 2008, the following: "The official graduate transcript must state the NP role and population focus of education preparation." The NP role and population for the program is "Family Nurse Practitioner.""

The request passed unanimously.

D. Form 91A - Literacy Education (SOE-08-420)

The graduate program wishes to eliminate from its admission requirements the two letters of recommendation, the literacy disposition paper, and the interview with literacy faculty. The paper will be part of a course requirement. It also wished to remove EPFR 515 and 520 or 521 as a prerequisite for the first clinical course, CI 571. The program also wishes to add passing the Illinois basic Skills Test as an exit requirement. These changes may increase graduate enrollment and will allow students to graduate in a more timely manner. There will be no adverse effects on the faculty or on the budget.

The request passed unanimously.

E. School of Business Interim Graduate Program Review Reports

1. Accountancy, MSA

2. Business Administration, MBA

3. Economics and Finance, MA, MS

4. Marketing Research, MMR

The Council unanimously voted to accept these reports as submitted.

V. Report of the Educational and Research Policies Committee

The ERP will continue to discuss the matter of the RCR issue at a later date. It is waiting for information from federal funding agencies. ERP discussed the definition of "seed money" for the STEP program via e-mail. On the issue of funding multiple faculty presenters for the same paper at the same conference, ERP felt that the limited amount of available funding for travel prohibited that practice. It recommended leaving the current policy as it is. Stephanie McAndrews was concerned that the policy may discourage faculty members from working together. Rakesh Bharati stated that changing the policy to make co-presenters eligible for travel funding for a shared paper could establish a negative incentive for reducing the number of conferences attended by SIUE faculty members. It is at these conferences that SIUE receives positive publicity for its faculty's scholarship. Marcus Agustin pointed out that there are other sources for faculty travel funding on campus, including Assistant Provost Venessa Brown's area in the Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor, and external grants. Agustin added that ERP discussed the academic unit's share of Hoppe/Lindsay Funding. The cost for assigned time in past years was split 50/50 between the academic unit and the Graduate School. When the Graduate Council converted the Lindsay award to the New Investigator Award, it did not add cost-sharing to the guidelines. ERP specified the amount that the deans will contribute will be 20% ($2500), while the Graduate School will provide $10,000.

VI. Continuing Business

There was no continuing business.

VII. New Business

There was no new business.

VIII. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:31 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen L. Hansen,
Associate Provost for Research and Dean,
The Graduate School

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]