Apply to SIUE
Graduate School
Graduate School


Minutes of

October 29, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marcus Agustin, Jen Gapin, Andrea Hester, Poonam Jain, Susan Morgan for Jerry Weinberg, Leah O'Brien, Joe Schober (Chair), Doug Simms for Dave Duvernell, Terry Yan

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Kristine Hildebrandt

I. Announcements

Susan Morgan announced that the Graduate School has received three applications for the Paul Simon Outstanding Scholar Award.

II. Minutes of September 24, 2012

Leah O'Brien made a motion to accept the minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

III. University Guidelines Regarding Review and Approval of Externally Financed Projects Policy (5B2)

This policy, which was last updated in 2000, sets forth the appropriate channels for approval of external grants contracts. Language was updated. For example, the phrase "mailing deadline" was replaced with "submittal deadline" to reflect the frequent practice of online submission. The Research and Projects Fiscal Management unit within the Graduate School is now called the Office of Research and Projects Post-Award Services.

The committee made additional revisions to the text. These included changing the word "extramural" to "external," deleting the first sentence in section I, changing "chairperson" to "chair," and changing the term "acceptance checklist" in Section II to "grant and contract routing form." It also changed the title from "University Guidelines Regarding Review and Approval of Externally Financed Projects," to "University … Externally Funded Projects."

Marcus Agustin made a motion to approve the policy as amended; Poonam Jain seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

IV. University Admission Policy (1E1)

ERP's subcommittee, chaired by Terry Yan, clarified the requirements for admission to doctoral studies. The changes in policy submitted to ERP were identical to those changes agreed upon in the 2011-2012 Graduate Council. Last year, the changes were submitted based on an older version of the policy and were sent back for resubmission on the appropriate text. The committee replaced the term "and/or" with a comma in the seventh line of the first paragraph. That sentence now reads, "Applicants for doctoral programs must present evidence that they hold a baccalaureate degree, a master's degree or the equivalent from accredited institutions. The committee also requested the word "baccalaureate" inserted into the first paragraph on page 6 that now reads, in part, "international applicants are expected to have completed the foreign equivalent of the American baccalaureate or master's degree .…" The next paragraph now reads, "Individual programs may have earlier deadlines than the Graduate School and international applicants should consult the programs to which they are applying."

Marcus Agustin made a motion to approve the policy; Joe Schober seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

V. Doctoral Issues

At this time, University policies do not provide guidance for the following questions. Are non-doctoral students allowed in doctoral classes? If so, is there any restriction on the number of classes or hours that can be taken, or a limit on how many terms this could occur? Will SIUE allow transfer credit into one of our doctoral programs, and if so, what is the limit? The time limit for master's students is six years, and for specialist degrees, seven years. What is the time limit for doctoral students? Are both candidacy and residency required, and if so, how would they be counted?

The subcommittee should include two from ERP. Poonam Jain volunteered to chair the subcommittee, and Terry Yan volunteered to participate as a member. It should also have representatives from Nursing and Education, the two programs that offer a doctoral degree, and engineering and history whose programs participate in a cooperative doctoral program with Carbondale. Terry Yan serves the dual purpose of representing ERP and engineering. Joe Schober will write a memo to invite faculty from nursing, education, and history to participate in the Doctoral Ad Hoc II Subcommittee.

VI. Continuing Business

There was no continuing business.

VII. New Business

Leah O'Brien inquired about the status of the Journal Editor Support Program. That proposal was that journal editors could compete for funds for a maximum of $6,000 per year for one or two years. The funds would be used to obtain a course buyout, student assistance, or administrative help. The proposal was tabled at the Graduate Council meeting of May 4, 2012. O'Brien volunteered to work on it if the item is revisited.

VIII. Adjournment

Marcus Agustin made a motion to adjourn; Joe Schober seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 12:01 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph Schober, Chair
Educational and Research Policies Committee, and
Assistant Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]