Apply to SIUE
Graduate School
Graduate School

Graduate Council


Minutes of

March 18, 2011

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marcus Agustin (Chair), Sarah Bailey, Rakesh Bharati, David Duvernell, Christa Johnson for Jerry Weinberg, Yuliang Liu, Suman Mishra, Joe Schober, Mariana Solares


I. Announcements

Christa Johnson announced that the New Directions competition has received 60 proposals. Those are currently under review. The Hoppe and Lindsay award deadlines are also coming up. She also announced that Allison Funk, of the Department of English Language and Literature, and Edward Sewell, of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, have been promoted to Distinguished Research Professor. She reminded those present that the Research Symposium will take place on Wednesday, March 30th. Bill Smart will be the keynote speaker at 9 AM, and the Graduate School is offering a faculty panel on reviewing grants at 10 AM. There will be a tour of East St. Louis as well provided by the SIUE Institute for Urban Research. Everyone is invited to the Simon luncheon.

II. Minutes of February 11, 2011

The minutes were unanimously approved as submitted.

III. Policy on Professional Development Sequences

This topic will be addressed at a later meeting.

IV. Proposals Submitted Without ORP Review

This topic will be addressed at a later meeting.

V. Continuing Business

A. Graduate School/Graduate Council Operating Papers

The ERP committee continued to examine the Operating Papers in detail, line by line. It examined section 1.II.A through 1.II.C which concern the officers of the Graduate Council. The general consensus was that the Dean of the Graduate School should not be the Secretary of the Graduate Council. The language was changed to reflect that, and to clarify the status of the chairs of the standing committees.

The section now reads:

II. Officers

A. The Chairperson, Vice Chairperson/Chair-Elect, Chair of ERP, Chair of Programs Committee, and Secretary of the Graduate Council the Dean of the Graduate School shall serve in the same capacities as officers of the Graduate Faculty.

B. The Graduate Council shall elect annually its own Chairperson, and Vice Chairperson/Chair-elect and Chairs of the committees. Elections shall be held no later than the first meeting of the newly elected Council. In the event of a vacancy in the Chairmanship, the Vice-Chairperson/Chair-elect shall be appointed as the Chairperson of the Graduate Council. The Graduate Council shall then elect another Vice-Chairperson/Chair-elect. In the event of a vacancy of both the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson/Chair-elect, the Council shall hold an election to fill both positions.

C. The Dean of the Graduate School will provide administrative support for serve as Secretary of the Graduate Council.

The ERP committee will continue this discussion at its next meeting.

VI. New Business

There was no new business.

VII. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10:03 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jerry B. Weinberg
Acting Associate Provost for Research and Dean
The Graduate School

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]