[IMAGE: Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo]
Apply to SIUE
College of Arts & Sciences
College of Arts & Sciences
[IMAGE: Institutional Header]

The Department of Philosophy

Student Honors in Philosophy

Department Awards:

Robert A. Gray Memorial Award in Philosophy: This award annually goes to an outstanding student in the Philosophy program. Chosen by a committee of the faculty, the recipient represents exemplary academic performance and leadership. These criteria seek to perpetuate the memory of the outstanding traits of Robert Gray.
Recipients of Robert A. Gray Memorial Award in past five years:

2014: David Grybinas

2013: Robert Budron

2012: Erik Zimmerman ( URCA Associate at SIUE)

2011: Jason Johannpeter

2010: Kelsey Borrowman

Ober Honors Award in Philosophy: This award for excellence in Philosophy is given to a student who exhibits outstanding academic performance in a Philosophy course during the given academic year. Each member of the faculty of Philosophical Studies is asked to nominate an outstanding student from one of his or her classes and explain the rationale behind the nomination. A select committee, composed of the faculty Chairperson, undergraduate advisor, and graduate advisor carefully chooses the recipient of the award from the nominated candidates. The award is not restricted to Philosophy majors or minors.
Recipients of Ober Honors Award in past five years:

2014: Michael Hensley

2013: Leon Thompson

2012: Samanthe Braswell

2011: Margaret Sherer

2010: James Feigl

Other Awards:

Mary A. Maguire Dunnagan History/Philosophy Writing Contest Award: This Honors Day award is administered and awarded jointly through the Departments of Philosophy and Historical Studies at SIUE. Undergraduate and graduate students from these programs who hold at least a 3.0 GPA in their major are eligible to receive this award. Each candidate for the award must write a paper regarding either intellectual history or the history of the philosophy of ideas. Based on these writings, the recipient is chosen by a committee of faculty and staff from the two represented programs.
Recent Recipients of the Mary A. Maguire Dunnagan Award in the Philosophy Department:

2011: Nathaniel Dell (also named the Lincoln Academy Student Laureate in 2010, and an URCA Associate at SIUE)

2007: Laura Johnson

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff foursquareoff socialoff