Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE

Institutional Header

The Student Opportunities for Academic Results (SOAR) Center provides a variety of support services to underrepresented college student populations to assist with their retention and graduation from SIUE. SOAR is committed to helping students develop the necessary characteristics and abilities to succeed at the university level. SOAR provides the necessary support to help students overcome the social, academic, and cultural barriers to higher education.

Dr. Earleen Patterson, our Director, and Mr. Darryl Cherry, our Coordinator of Student Retention, are both well-versed and experienced in academic advising. They care about our students' success and take active roles in our students' academic development. Our advisors receive grade and progress reports for SOAR students every semester and are prepared to intervene when necessary to facilitate better-quality coursework and class participation.

Services Offered:

  • Academic advising
  • Mentoring
  • Tutorial support
  • Supplemental instruction & study skills seminars
  • Cultural, educational, and/or social events.
  • Connection to resources & services to address personal issues or challenges
  • Midterm academic progress reporting

Please use the navigation menu to the left to learn more about various aspects of our program.

Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. We are located in the Student Success Center, Suite 1259. (Enter through the Academic Advancement Center, Suite 1220, and go to your left. You will see the SOAR Department directly ahead.)  

Congrats to current and former SOAR students on the Dean's List for Spring 2018!

Payton Adams
Adejoke Adanri
Olabidemi Animashaun
Makayla Ayers
Triston Ballinger
Carlie Bibbs
Jeremy Bonds
Ariel Brumfield
Kevin Campbell
Monet Carr
Nicole Cayson
Kendall Clark
Denise Cobb
Mackenzie Cohoon
Alexandria Conner
Tatyana Curtis
Alona Davenport
Daizjah Day
Sahra Donnelly
Peyton Dunne
Diego Espinoza
Kayla Estell
Mallory Feldmann
Lauryn Fox
Christine Gates
Katlyn Genenbacher
Jami Gibbs
Isaiah Guerrero
Brionna Hambright
Fahad Haque
Youssef Hassan
Shantell Henry
Zachariah Holoman
Kiley Hunt
Marshekia Hunt (Ledbetter)
Taylor Irons
Ajá Jackson
Shardai' Jamison-Hampton
Derek Jansen
Michelle Jiles
Katie Johns
Santara Jones
Lexi Karuzis
Mario Kassa
Alexis Kessinger
Baylee Kiel
Angel Kinnel
Alisha Kloss
Kendra Kolb
Skylar Krager
Michaela Kulasekara
Earvin Kwarten
Luis Lamas
Taylor Lewis
Autumn Lewis
Kailey Lomelino
Jakari Lowe-Ellis
Tania Manjarrez-Nevarez
Emily Martin
Ash (Que'rra) Mason
Megan McClure
Terri McFadden
Alliyah Mercurio
Elizabeth Michel
Abby Miller
Taylor Morris
Michelle Motta
Jaleelah Muhammad
Syeda Naqvi
Daija Nellums
Stella Nguepnang
Sonia Nguepnang
Sydney Oats
Tynesha Oden
Cassidy Oliver
Autumn Olson
A'Maginese O'Neal
Vanesa Patkovic
Amir Rasmussen
Emily Raynor
Stephanie Redfield
Brianna Reed
Amelia Ries
Destiny Robinson
Derek Ruble
Sierra Schafer
William Schwartz
Maya Searcy
Jamal Sims
Mynita Smith
Vernon Smith
Zachary St.Clair
Katelyn Thomas
Jazsmine Towner
Kenisha Townsend
Christopher Ukachukwu
Kiara VanPelt
Kelsey Walker
Asia Walker
Ambrosia Walters
Shelby Washington
Donovan Washington
Ricardo Wells
Tyla Wells
Austin Wiegand
Trevahn Williams
Angel Williams
Lindsey Williams
Darien Wilson
Jason Zhao
facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff socialoff