Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Office of the Provost
Office of the Provost
Institutional Header


The Faculty Senate has been recognized by the Chancellor as the body empowered to act as the agent for the University faculty in regard to academic matters and other matters of faculty concern. The Faculty Senate has direct access to the Chancellor of the University.

The Faculty Senate, consisting of 49 members, has established the following standing Councils:

Curriculum Council
Faculty Development Council
Rules and Procedures Council
Welfare Council
Graduate Council
The functions and responsibilities of the Faculty Senate, its Councils and standing committees are contained in the Faculty Senate Constitution and Bylaws, which are included in the Appendices of this Handbook.

The Faculty Senate meets at least once a month or more frequently if its responsibilities require.

The Graduate Council meets the first Friday of each month.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff