Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Office of Research and Projects

Internal Grants

Graduate Students

Competitive Grants

Paul Simon Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Award

Previous Awardees
Download Application Materials and Program Guidelines


Submit portfolio to Graduate School, Campus Box 1046, by 4:30 p.m. Fri., September 2, 2016


The Paul Simon Outstanding Teacher-Scholar award is presented to an SIUE faculty member in order to recognize the role of interdependence of research/scholarship and teaching. The Award confirms SIUE's belief that an individual must be a good scholar to be a good teacher.


This program is limited to tenured faculty. An individual may not receive the Simon Award for two consecutive years. No limit exists on the number of applicants a department or program may submit, although no more than one award will be given each year.

Nature of Award

The Paul Simon Award recognizes faculty members who contribute original research or creative activities and integrate that research or creative activity into their teaching activities. A certificate and a $5,000 award, routed through the payroll system, will be presented to the honoree.

The Paul Simon Award is not given automatically each year; it is only awarded when a nominee of superior merit is selected. A maximum of one award will be given annually.

*The Paul Simon Awardee is expected to make a presentation for graduate students and faculty that reveals how the awardee has integrated research and teaching. The presentation takes place at the Graduate School Research Symposium the year following receipt of the award.


September 2, 2016: applications due to The Graduate School

October, 2016: announcement of awards

March 21, 2017: Paul Simon Luncheon – presentation of award, the previous year's Paul Simon Honoree gives the Luncheon Address

Downloads and Links:

Application Cover Sheet
Program Guidelines - PDF format

Program Contact:

Teri Gulledge
Program Coordinator

Previous Awardees

Paul Simon Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Awards

2016 --Cristina De Meo, Chemistry

2015-- Ryan Fries, Civil Engineering
2014-- Julie Holt, Anthropology
2013-- Andy Pomerantz, Psychology
2012-- George Engel, Electrical & Computer Engineering
2011-- Michael Shaw, Chemistry
2010-- Urszula Ledzewicz, Mathematics & Statistics
2009-- David Kauzlarich, Sociology & Criminal Justice Studies

Paul Simon Outstanding Scholar Awards
2008-- Albert Luo, Mechanical Engineering
2007-- Brad Cross, Civil Engineering
2006-- Allison J. Funk, English Language and Literature
2005-- Marvin S. Finkelstein, Sociology and Criminal Justice Studies
2004-- Mark G. Bolyard, Biological Sciences
2003-- Leah O'Brien, Chemistry
2002-- Rob J. Zachow, Dental Medicine
2001-- James W. Trent, Social Work
2000-- Ronald P. Schaefer, English Language and Literature
1999-- William I. Woods, Geography

Paul Simon Teaching Research Awards
1998-- Steve Rigdon, Mathematics and Statistics
1997-- Individual: Madhav Segal, Marketing
1997-- Departmental: Department of Biological Sciences, Richard Brugam, Chair
1996-- Individual: Marian Smith, Biological Sciences
1996-- Departmental: Department of Psychology, Ken Kleinman, Chair

Outstanding Scholar Awards
1998-- Jack Kaikati, Marketing
1997-- S. William Whitson, Dental Medicine
1996-- Daniel Anderson, Art and Design
1995-- John Farley, Sociology
1994-- Jamie E. Thomerson, Biological Sciences
1993-- Patrick Riddleberger, Historical Studies
1992-- Toby Griffen, Foreign Lanuages and Literature
1991-- Charles Corr, Philosophical Studies
1990-- Thomas Bouman, Chemistry
1989-- Robert Kohn, Economics
1988-- Stella Revard, English Language and Literature

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff