Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE


Office of Academic Advising

About Us

Advising Header

Academic Advising Team

effie hortis

Efrosini Hortis

(618) 650-3701
ehortis@siue.edu

Education

Bachelor of Arts in English Literature and ESL teaching; University of Massachusetts, Boston

Master of Education in Higher Education, Suffolk University; Boston, Massachusetts

Doctorate of Education, University of Glasgow, Scotland (in progress)       


Professional Background

How long have you been doing what you do?

I started working as an academic advisor 6 years ago, in the American College of Greece.

How long have you been at SIUE?

I began advising at SIUE in August, 2016.

How did you get here?

I relocated from Greece because I truly value the broadness of Higher Education in the United States, therefore I believe that SIUE is a diverse institution where I can grow professionally and personally, while doing something that I really enjoy …..  “The energy of the mind is the essence of life”, Aristotle 

What are you most passionate about professionally?

Helping students realizing their strengths and talents in order to overcome academic difficulties and reach their goals, while they transition and adjust to college life. It gives me happiness seeing my students during their graduation ceremony, which is the last part of their journey and the proof that they reached their goals. Moreover, I enjoy working on curriculum changes.  

What do you love most about working at SIUE?

According to Aristotle “Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work”

I have only been a month in SIUE, however I believe that the diverse body of students and colleagues that I am going to work with, is going to be an interesting adventure and a developmental process for me in order to excel in my job as an Academic Advisor at SIUE.

Are you involved in any professional organizations/groups?

  •  NACADA: Member of the Global Initiatives Committee 

What are your primary duties in your current position?

Assist students with course selection, major decisions & exploring campus resources and opportunities.

Personal Information

Where can we find you when you’re not working?

Exploring the area with my bike & studying for my Doctorate Degree.

Where did you grow up?

Athens, Greece

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff