Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
School of Nursing
School of Nursing
Institutional Header

Epsilon Eta Chapter

The Epsilon Eta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International was chartered in 1980 at SIUE. It is open to nursing students and leaders who meet established academic and professional criteria both at graduate and undergraduate levels and to community nursing leaders. The society is concerned with the advancement of professional nursing through scholarship, research and practices.

Undergraduate students must have a GPA of 3.0 and shall have completed half of their program. Undergraduates must be in the top 35 % of their class. Graduate students must have a GPA of 3.5 and completed a minimum of one quarter of the required graduate curriculum. A nurse leader must have a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent in any field, and have demonstrated achievement in nursing. Undergraduates and graduate students who meet the criteria are mailed letters of invitation by the Eligibility counselor and president of Sigma Theta Tau Epsilon Eta, six weeks prior to any induction.



On October 8, 2014, Epsilon Eta inducted 71 new members into Sigma Theta Tau during an afternoon ceremony featuring Dr. Marilyn Oermann, an internationally-celebrated nurse educator, as the key note speaker. Dr. Oermann encouraged the new members to use the resources of Sigma Theta Tau International and to maintain the collegial relationships that they have and will make in the organization.

In addition to inducting new members, the Chapter made the following awards to students:

Dr. Gladys Mabunda Memorial Scholarship in Nursing - Becil Sheldon Deary
Betty Temples Mill Undergraduate Student Award for Academic Excellence - Corie Hasler
Graduate Student Merit Award - Christopher Slane

Award Applications

Download the following for criteria, deadlines and applications forms for each of the awards.

Betty Temples Mill Undergraduate Student Award for Academic Excellence
Graduate Student Merit Award
Dr. Gladys Mabunda Non-Traditional Student Undergraduate Scholarship


Soon to graduate? Look for a Speed Interviewing session conducted by Epsilon Eta in February/March on the best practices in interviewing for that first job, what to say, what to know and how to deal with interview anxiety.

The Annual Business Meeting will be held in April 2015. Location and specific date/time will be forthcoming, along with the call for nominations for two awards traditionally offered: The Dissertation Award and the Writing for Publication Awards.

Faculty Members in Sigma Theta Tau 

Barbara Astorino
Mary Lee Barrons
Michele Beatty
Marietta Bell-Scriber
Laura Bernaix
Sheri Compton-McBride
Rhonda Comrie
Paul Darr
Christine Durbin
Lisa Green
Valerie Griffin
Roberta Harrison
Jennifer Hoxsey
Debra Jenkins
Donna Jewell
Karen Kelly
Kathy Ketchum
Jean LaFollette
Kelley McGuire
Amelia Perez
Carly Petri
Sheila Pietroburgo
Ann Popkess
Amy Reed
Melodie Rowbotham
Angela Stutz
Carole Sullivan
Kim White
Susan Winters
Valerie Yancey

Members- Keep Informed

Many of our members join as students, and then fail to update their email address as they transition into their professional roles. We encourage you to keep us informed of a current email and contact information. All of the communication is electronic.

Please see the website below and sign in to update your contact information.

Sigma Theta Tau International

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff