Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Library and Information Services
Library and Information Services
Institutional Header

Reference Services

The services listed below may be affected by abbreviated hours due to break week or vacation schedules.

Ask a Librarian - by phone

Lovejoy Library's Information Desk can be reached at (618) 650-2615. During the current semester telephone reference assistance is available Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m., Saturday from 10:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m., and Sunday from 1:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m.

Ask a Librarian - in person

During the current semester reference assistance is available at the Information Desk Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m., Saturday from 10:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m., and Sunday from 1:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. The Information Desk is located on the first floor of Lovejoy Library. If you are unfamliar with the location of the Library, consult the campus map.

Ask a Librarian - email

Email reference service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. A response should be sent in less than 24 hours.

Ask a Librarian - chat

Chat reference assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The service is staffed by Lovejoy Library's librarians on a limited basis; at other times the service is monitored by professionals at other libraries in Illinois and Wisconsin.

Ask a Librarian - consultation with a subject specialist

If you need subject-specific reference assistance, you can contact one of the subject librarians to schedule a research consultation.

Archivist and Special Collections Librarian
Steve Kerber (618) 650 - 2665 skerber@siue.edu
Business and Engineering Librarian
Paul Anthony (618) 650 - 3282 panthon@siue.edu
Education Librarian
Matthew Paris (618) 650 - 2906 mparis@siue.edu
Fine Arts Librarian
Therese Dickman (618) 650 - 2695 tdickma@siue.edu
Humanities Librarian
Julie Hansen (618) 650 - 2616 jhansen@siue.edu
Instruction and Reference Librarian
Lydia Jackson (618) 650 - 2604 ljackso@siue.edu
Science and Health Sciences Librarian
Diane Hudson (618) 650 - 3129 dhudson@siue.edu
Science and Health Sciences Librarian
Juliet Kerico (618) 650 - 3828 jkerico@siue.edu
Social Sciences Librarian
Linda Carlisle (618) 650 - 2423 lcarlis@siue.edu
U.S. Documents and Map Librarian
Gary Denue (618) 650 - 2632 gdenue@siue.edu


Supplementary material

There are many resources designed to assist users during the research process. Users can access the journal databases to find articles on their topics, use an online catalog to find books and other resources available locally or through the statewide CARLI consortium, or browse reference sources to locate relevant information. Some electronic resources are only available to SIUE faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.

Research guides also provide assistance with database searching and other aspects of the research process. For general information on performing other library tasks, including using the online catalog and interlibrary loan client, consult the How Do I ...? forms.