Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Student Government
SIUE Student Government

About Student Government

Student Government represents undergraduate, graduate, and professional students at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. Its primary function is to serve as an advocate on student issues and voice students’ concerns about campus issues.

Student Government holds two senate meetings each month that students may attend and address the senate at the end of the meeting during open forum.

The Constitution pdf and Bylaws pdf serve as the primary governing documents for Student Government and its committees. Senate Bill 13-07-02 pdf amended the Constitution to create a marketing and communications position on the executive board.

Student Government Structure

Student Government is overseen by the Kimmel Student Involvement Center and the Office of Student Affairs and is divided into two main branches:

  • The legislative branch comprises 16 senators:
    • 12 elected undergraduate senators
    • 2 elected graduate senators
    • 2 appointed freshman senators
  • The executive branch includes student body president, vice president and student trustee who are elected each spring

Following elections, the student body president appoints five officers to oversee:

  • External Affairs
  • Finances
  • Internal Affairs
  • Marketing and Communications
  • Organization Relations

These appointments are approved by the Senate. These officers, in addition to elected members of the executive branch, make up the Executive Board.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff