Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Kimmel Leadership Center
Kimmel Leadership Center
Institutional Header

Student Government represents undergraduate and graduate students at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. Its primary function is to serve as an advocate on student issues and voice students' concerns about campus issues.

On this page, students can learn more about Student Government by reading the Student Government Constitution and Bylaws. These two documents are the main operating documents for Student Government. You may download these documents by clicking the links below. These documents require Adobe Reader, which can be downloaded for free by clicking here .

Governing Documents

The Constitution and Bylaws serve as the operating document for Student Government and its subcommittees.

Student Government Constitution Student Government Bylaws

Organization of Student Government

Student Government is divided into a legislative and an executive branch. The legislative branch consists of twelve senators elected by the student body during an election held each spring. The Executive Board consists of the Student Body President, Student Body Vice President, and Student Trustee who are elected by the student body each spring. The Executive Board also consists of four officials appointed by the Student Body President and confirmed by the Senate. These five positions are: Financial Officer, Internal Affairs Officer, Organization Relations Officer, External Affairs Officer and School Spirit & Pride Chair.

A document outlining the structure of Student Government may be downloaded by clicking the link below.

Overview of Student Government