For the purposes of this policy, the term “semesters” includes Fall, Spring, and Summer.
Course retention: Courses will be maintained in the Blackboard system for 4 semesters plus the current semester. Courses will be archived and backed up before removal.
Student retention: Student enrollments will be maintained in the Blackboard system for 2 semesters plus the current semester. Student information (i.e. grades) will be backed up and downloaded before removal.
Maintenance/Downtime: Blackboard is shut down and unavailable each day for maintenance at the following times: Mon. through Sat., 2:30 A.M. to 3:10 A.M. and Sunday from 3:00 A.M. to 4:20 A.M.
In addition, Blackboard may be unavailable on the 3rd Friday of every month beginning at 5:00 P.M. while system-wide updates are applied. The campus will be notified in advance if these larger maintenance outages are scheduled.
Enrollment into classes:
If the student is enrolled in the course through the registrar, the student will be added automatically within 24 hours of their completed registration.
Additional students, Teaching Assistants, Graduate Assistants or Instructors may be added to a Blackboard course with written permission from the faculty member responsible for the Blackboard course. The faculty member giving permission must also state what level of access the person should have within the Blackboard course.
Special additions can also be made such as: incompletes, course audits, independent study, or observers. In each of these instances, written faculty permission is required and the users are added to the Blackboard course with student status.
Users without SIUE e-IDs can also be added to Blackboard courses. Written permission from the faculty member responsible for the Blackboard course is required. The faculty member must request a special account from email@example.com and act as the sponsor for that account. Once the special account is secured, the faculty member must notify the Blackboard administrator of the special account information. The account information is added to Blackboard and the user is enrolled in the course.
Educard users are also added to Blackboard courses. The user must have either an SIUE e-ID or a special account requested from firstname.lastname@example.org. The Educard user’s e- ID information or special account information is added to Blackboard and the user is enrolled in the course
Removing users from a course: removals (drops) are done following the academic calendar. Students who have dropped a course will be removed from the course according to the Registrar’s calendar.