Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Graduate School
Graduate School

Graduate Committee on Assessment (GCOA)


Erin Behnen, Director, Office of Assessment, Ex Officio
Kelly Gable, School of Pharmacy, term expires 2017
Andrew Griffin, School of Nursing, term expires 2016
Susan Morgan, Associate Dean, The Graduate School, Ex Officio
Nader Panahshahi, School of Engineering, term expires 2017
Gertrude Pannirselvam, School of Business, Committee Chair, term expires 2016
Alison Reeves, School of Education, term expires 2016
Zachary Schaefer, College of Arts and Sciences, term expires 2018
Jason Stacy, College of Arts and Sciences, term expires 2018
Eric Voss, College of Arts and Sciences, term expires 2016

UPCOMING MEETINGS (always in the Graduate School Conference Room unless otherwise specified)

See the SharePoint site or call the Graduate School at 650-3010.


I. Functions of the Committee

Under the leadership of the Office of Assessment and the Graduate School, the Graduate Committee on Assessment oversees the assessment process for graduate education. The Committee is responsible for reviewing and approving graduate program assessment plans as well as annual performance reports and providing feedback to the respective program and to the Graduate Council on the basis of such reviews. The Committee will work collaboratively with the undergraduate Committee on Assessment to oversee the university's assessment plan and to apply uniform assessment practices and procedures. The Committee's deliberations will inform the formal feedback provided to programs. Responses to departments and programs will be coordinated with the Graduate School and the Office of Assessment. The Graduate Committee on Assessment will report its decisions to the Programs Committee and will coordinate with this body to address common substantive issues that may influence program review.

II. Membership and Number

The Committee shall be constituted of a minimum of eight faculty members appointed by the Dean of the Graduate School, one graduate student, the Director of Assessment (as a voting member), and the Associate Dean of the Graduate School (as a voting member). The Associate Dean will also serve as the liaison with the Graduate Council.

III. Selection Procedures

The Dean of the Graduate School will make appointments to this committee. The Dean may consult the Director of Assessment and Assistant Provost for Academic Innovation and Effectiveness to identify faculty members with expertise in assessment. Ideally, members will be knowledgeable about assessment practices and represent a broad base of disciplines.

Appointments to the Committee shall normally be for three-year terms except for the graduate student representative who is appointed for a one-year term; reappointment is permitted. All members of the Committee are voting members. The Chairperson of the Committee shall be elected from among the Committee faculty membership and approved by the Graduate Council in consultation with the Dean of the Graduate School. The term of office as Chairperson shall be one year; reappointment of the same individual to additional terms is permitted.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff