Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Graduate School
Graduate School


Minutes of

September 11th, 2009

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marcus Agustin, Rakesh Bharati, Steffany Chleboun, Sohyung Cho for Jianpeng Zhou, Dean Cody for Linda Carlisle, Laura Fowler, Carole Frick, M. Jane Gillespie, Steve Hansen, Michael Shaw, Mariana Solares, G. Stacey Staples, Erin Timpe, Valerie Yancey

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Scott Belobrajdic

GUESTS: Christa Johnson, Associate Dean, Office of Research and Projects
Ronald Schaefer, Associate Dean, The Graduate School

I. Announcements

A. 2009-10 Academic Year Charge to the Graduate Council

Associate Provost Hansen reviewed the challenges and goals of the 2009-10 Graduate Council. He wishes to initiate a discussion on moving graduate education and research to the next level through improving the infrastructure, faculty development, increasing the inventory and quality of graduate programs, and attracting quality students. He reviewed the status of current support available through the Graduate School. Recent opportunities for faculty development and program infrastructure included work on time and effort reporting systems, equipment competition, internal grant sup[port and support for sponsored programs. Hansen stated that during the last fiscal year, 42% if faculty participated in grants, which is a phenomenal percentage at a master's level institution, especially compared to our peer IBHE universities. The Graduate Council has been conducting thorough program reviews and has been working to strengthen the assessment process. It has also approved funding for SAGE and for student recruitment. The Graduate School hired a full time graduate recruiter. This year, the Graduate School is able to offer the Graduate Dean Award to new graduate students. Hansen stated that some improvements he would like to see is the strengthening of the research centers, new program development, and increasing statistical support and research design. Hansen concluded by revealing his goals for the university and graduate education in general. He wishes for SIUE to be in the top ten research and development master's institutions in the USA. He wishes for graduate student enrollment to make up 20% of the total SIUE enrollment, and he wants to enhance SIUE's reputation for quality graduate education. He charged the Council with defining measures to achieve these goals.

B. Other Announcements

Associate Provost Steve Hansen announced that graduate enrollment has increased. There are 172 more enrolled graduate students in Fall 2009 than in Fall 2008. 133 of those are in the School of Education. He expressed concern for future enrollment in the School of Business. Its graduate enrollment went from 319 to 273 in the same period. He distributed a report from the Chronicle Research Services ( He pointed out that according to this article, the idea of a four year residential college "will continue to wane." He also noted that EGE and SAGE money has been used for recruitment in the past and wondered if that money should be redirected toward stimulating faculty to create online courses. If this option is pursued, there would have to be a built in provision for faculty development.

Associate Dean Christa Johnson announced that the applications for the Seed Grants for Transitional and Exploratory Projects (STEP) program are due Friday, October 2nd. She asked the Council members to encourage faculty in their areas to apply. Johnson also announced that the Graduate School is forming a Distinguished Scholars Council to advise junior faculty on grant proposal preparation. Lastly, Johnson said that she is putting together the next issue of Research and Creative Activities and will be contacting faculty researchers soon. She estimates that RCA will be published in late spring.

Associate Dean Ron Schaefer announced that the competition for the new Graduate Dean Award (GDA) is underway. This award will be given to 13 new graduate students whose first term of full time enrollment is Spring, 2010. Each of the winners will received $4,000 plus a tuition waiver. The award is not renewable, and it does not have recurring funding. Details are available on the Graduate School website.

II. Approval of Minutes of May 1st, 2009

Erin Timpe made a motion to approve the minutes; Dean Cody seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

III. Report of the Executive Committee

The Executive Committee met prior to this meeting. Michael Shaw announced that the Schools of Engineering and Nursing will be giving reports on the first phases of their SAGE projects at the October 2nd meeting. He also announced that the BOT approved a 3.5% increase for faculty. Seven percent of SIUE's budget this year came from the economic stimulus package. There will be an expected shortfall of $4.6 M in Fiscal Year 2011. The Science Building budget of $81.7 M has been approved. The new building will consume 60 parking spaces. It will house the departments of Physics, Mathematics, and others, and will provide flexible space on a rotating basis for departments who need to evacuate their office and lab spaces for renovation. The capital bill is staggered over five years. The initial groundbreaking may begin as early as May, 2010. Shaw also announced that SIUE's enrollment is at an all-time high this semester, 13,940 students. He also said that the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate asked the ERP to evaluate travel funding. Shaw also wondered how we can facilitate moving the 91As through the system.

IV. Report of the Programs Committee

The first meeting of the Programs Committee will be held Thursday, September 24th, at 8:30 AM. The agenda item for that meeting is the request for the termination of the Master of Science in physics program.

V. Report of the Educational and Research Policies (ERP) Committee

The ERP Committee did not meet. Its first meeting will be held Friday, September 25th at 2 PM.

VI. Continuing Business

There was no continuing business.

VII. New Business

A. Election of Vice Chair/Chair-elect

Carole Frick nominated Rakesh Bharati to serve as the Vice Chair/Chair-elect for the 2009-10 academic year. Val Yancey seconded the motion. The motion to nominate passed unanimously. Professor Bharati was elected unanimously.

B. Search Committee Volunteers (Associate Dean of the Graduate School - 50%)

Associate Provost Hansen asked for three volunteers to conduct an internal search for an Associate Dean of the Graduate School (50%). He would like the new Associate Dean to begin on January 4, 2010. Rakesh Bharati and Laura Fowler volunteered to be on the search committee. They thought the third committee member should be someone from the Graduate School staff who will work closely with Ron Schaefer's replacement.

C. Continuing Discussion of Goals

Mike Shaw felt that the Council needs to have a serious discussion on how to conduct interdisciplinary projects. Associate Provost Hansen stated that the Graduate Council should set aside an hour in December to talk about goals, one of which is promoting interdisciplinary research projects.

VIII. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:40 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen L. Hansen,
Associate Provost for Research and Dean,
The Graduate School

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff