Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Graduate School
Graduate School


Minutes of

September 24, 2012

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marcus Agustin, Jen Gapin, Andrea Hester, Kristine Hildebrandt, Poonam Jain, Susan Morgan for Jerry Weinberg, Joe Schober (Chair), Terry Yan

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Leah O'Brien, Doug Simms

I. Announcements

After consulting with Legal Counsel, Susan Morgan announced that only the members of the Graduate Council are required to take the Open Meeting Act training. The non-Council members of ERP, Professors Gapin and Hildebrandt, are excused.

II. Minutes of April 26, 2012

The second paragraph under item VI (Journal Editor Support Guidelines) was replaced with the sentence, "The allowability of funds to be used for course release was discussed."

Terry Yan made a motion to accept the minutes as amended; Joe Schober seconded. The motion passed with four ayes and one abstention.

III. Responsible Conduct in Research (RCR)

The policy required changes, as NIH does not accept online-only training. The text modified in the policy to address this is:

"Per the National Institutes of Health's (NIH) "Requirement for Instruction in the Responsible Conduct of Research," each recipient of an applicable NIH grant will develop with his/her mentor a plan to meet the 8 required contact hours of instruction. This plan must be submitted to the Office of Research and Projects (ORP) for review and approval. Proof of completion of each element of the plan must be submitted to ORP."

The CITI online training counts as a portion of the 8 hours. The committee felt that it is unnecessary to specify "8" since that applies only to persons working with the NIH. The number was removed.

Poonam Jain made a motion to approve the policy as amended; Terry Yan seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

IV. Graduate Emeritus Policy

The policy, which was last updated in 1990, includes a provision in item #2 that graduate faculty emeritus must re-apply for that status every five years. That requirement was dropped. Additionally, graduate faculty emeritus were not required to seek temporary approval to teach graduate courses, but that language was redundant. Item #2 was replaced by, "Individuals who are accorded Emeritus Graduate Faculty status may teach graduate level courses with the approval of the department chair."

Jen Gapin made a motion to approve the policy; Kristine Hildebrandt seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

V. Graduate Admissions Policy (1E1) - Update

Terry Yan gave an update on the policy changes. The changes were deliberated on by the subcommittee, ERP, and the Graduate Council during 2011-12. The undergraduate admissions office proposed changes to the existing policy from 2011 simultaneously, which were approved prior to the submission of the graduate changes. Yan will work with his subcommittee to incorporate the approved changes into the current policy and will bring it to ERP in October.

VI. Continuing Business

There was no continuing business.

VII. New Business

There was no new business.

VIII. Adjournment

Poonam Jain made a motion to adjourn; Terry Yan seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 11:37 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph Schober, Chair
Educational and Research Policies Committee, and
Assistant Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff