Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
Institutional Header

Dean's Advisory Board

Role of the Board:

The Dean's Advisory Board works with the Dean to advance the mission and goals of the School of Dental Medicine. The Board may make recommendations and/or actively support the following areas:

  • Strategic Development
  • Financial Planning
  • Public Relations
  • Fundraising Efforts

Responsibilities of the Membership:

Each member of the Dean's Advisory Board is expected to fulfill the following responsibilities:

  • Staying informed of the activities of the SIU School of Dental Medicine through attendance at regularly scheduled Dean's Advisory Board meetings, occurring two times per year, usually once in the fall and once in the spring.
  • Serving as a consultant to the Dean by providing input and recommendations on strategic initiatives.
  • Supporting the SIU School of Dental Medicine with an annual financial, charitable contribution.
  • Promoting the SIU School of Dental Medicine to the State of Illinois, the southern Illinois region and the St. Louis metropolitan area.
  • Attending events as a representative of the SIU School of Dental Medicine.
  • Encouraging the dental community, as well as the state and local community, to support the work of the SIU School of Dental Medicine.

Composition of the Board:

The composition of the Dean's Advisory Board shall be inclusive of, but not limited to, the following individuals:

  • Alumni
  • Faculty
  • Dental community leaders
  • Medical community leaders
  • National and local corporate leaders
  • State and local government leaders
  • Philanthropic leaders

Board Leadership:
  • Dr. Bruce Rotter
  • Dr. Frank Maggio
    Chair of the Board

Board Membership:

  • Ms. Susan Crawford
    Director of Global Performance Systems
    DENTSPLY International
  • Rev. Dr. Richard P. Ellerbrake
    President Emeritus
    Deaconess Health System
  • Mr. Bernard Glossy
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Delta Dental of Illinois
  • The Honorable Bill Haine
    State Senator, District 56
    Illinois General Assembly
  • Dr. Jeff Harmon
    Class of 1997
  • The Honorable Renee Kosel
    State Representative, District 81
    Illinois General Assembly
  • Dr. Ronald Markarian
    Class of 1986
  • Dr. Michael Meier
    Class of 2000
  • Ms. Shirlene (Charlie) O'Russa
    West Coast Representative
    Whip Mix, Inc.
  • Dr. Neal Roller
    Clinical Professor, Section of Periodontology
    Emeritus Professor
  • Dr. John Rottschalk
    Class of 1998
  • Dr. Robert Schlueter
    Retired, Clinical Professor, Section of Periodontology
  • Dr. Debra Schwenk
    Class of 1985 & Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs
  • Ms. Rebecca Van Horn
    Dental Science Liaison Midwest
    Procter & Gamble, Crest/Oral B
  • Dr. Brent Wohlford
    Class of 1975
    Clinical Assistant Professor

Ex-Officio Membership:

  • Ms. Erin Syzdek
    Student Council President
  • Mr. Stephen Schaus
    Director of Development
facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff