Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE

SIU School of Dental Medicine


SIU School of Dental Medicine Giving

Dean’s Advisory Board

Role of the Board

The Dean’s Advisory Board works with the Dean to advance the mission and goals of the School of Dental Medicine. The Board may make recommendations and/or actively support the following areas:

  • Strategic Development
  • Financial Planning
  • Public Relations
  • Fundraising Efforts

Responsibilities of the Members

Each member of the Dean’s Advisory Board is expected to fulfill the following responsibilities:

  • Staying informed of the activities of the SIU School of Dental Medicine through attendance at regularly scheduled Dean’s Advisory Board meetings, occurring two times per year, usually once in the fall and once in the spring.
  • Serving as a consultant to the Dean by providing input and recommendations on strategic initiatives.
  • Supporting the SIU School of Dental Medicine with an annual financial, charitable contribution.
  • Promoting the SIU School of Dental Medicine to the State of Illinois, the southern Illinois region and the St. Louis metropolitan area.
  • Attending events as a representative of the SIU School of Dental Medicine.
  • Encouraging the dental community, as well as the state and local community, to support the work of the SIU School of Dental Medicine.

Composition of the Board

The composition of the Dean’s Advisory Board shall be inclusive of, but not limited to, the following individuals:

  • Alumni
  • Faculty
  • Dental community leaders
  • Medical community leaders
  • National and local corporate leaders
  • State and local government leaders
  • Philanthropic leaders

Board Leadership

  • Dr. Bruce Rotter, Dean
  • Dr. Frank Maggio, Chair of the Board

Board Membership

  • The Honorable Dan Beiser, State Representative, District 111, Illinois General Assembly
  • Mr. Mark Carlascio, Director, Professional Sales, Sunstar Americas
  • Mr. Bruce Colgin, President, Dental Arts Laboratories
  • The Rev. Dr. Richard P. Ellerbrake, President Emeritus, Deaconess Health System
  • Mr. Bernard Glossy, President and Chief Executive Officer, Delta Dental of Illinois
  • The Honorable William Haine, State Senator, District 56, Illinois General Assembly
  • Dr. Jeff Harmon, Class of 1997
  • Ms. Gail Malone, Professional Services Senior Manager, DENTSPLY Sirona
  • Dr. Ronald Markarian, Class of 1986
  • Dr. Michael Meier, Class of 2000
  • Ms. Shirlene (Charlie) O’Russa, West Territory Representative, Whip Mix
  • Dr. Neal Roller, Emeritus Clinical Professor, Section of Periodontology
  • Dr. John Rottschalk, Class of 1998
  • Dr. Dennis Savoca, Adjunct Emeritus Associate Professor, Office of Clinical Affairs
  • Dr. Robert Schlueter, Clinical Professor, Section of Periodontology (Retired)
  • Dr. Debra Schwenk, Class of 1985 & Emeritus Clinical Assistant Professor, Section of Practice Management
  • Dr. Edwards Shellard, Vice President, Sales and Marketing, Carestream Dental
  • Mr. John Simmons, Chairman, Simmons Hanly Conroy
  • Ms. Rebecca Van Horn, Dental Science Liaison Midwest, Procter & Gamble, Crest/Oral B (Retired)
  • Dr. Brent Wohlford, Class of 1975 & Clinical Assistant Professor, Section of Pediatric Dentistry

Ex-Officio Membership

  • Dr. Lawrence White, SIU SDM Alumni Council President
  • Mr. Kyle Mason, SIU SDM Student Council President
  • Mr. Stephen Schaus, SIU SDM Director of Development
facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff socialoff