Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
College of Arts & Sciences
College of Arts & Sciences
Institutional Header

The Department of Philosophy

Student Awards and Scholarships

Dr. Carol A. Keene Scholarship in Philosophy: This award of $2,000 goes to support the educational expenses for exemplary Philosophy majors in their junior or senior years. Women and minorities are encouraged to apply. Applications are due January 26, 2015. For more information, click here. Download the scholarship application here.

2015: David Favre

John Mareing Philosophy Scholarship: Those applying for this award of $2,000 must write a 1500-2000 word essay that addresses the relevance and role of Philosophy. Women and minorities are encouraged to apply. Applications are due January 26, 2015. For more information, click here.

2015: Stephen Wilke

Religious Studies Scholarship: This award of up to $1,000 goes to support the educational expenses of a Religious Studies minor who is planning to pursue a ministerial career. It is open to ministry in all faith traditions. Students interested in applying will need to write a 2 page essay outlining their future career objectives and highlighting why they should be selected. All application materials are due by February 15th. Download the scholarship application here.

2015: Grant Claunch

2014: Shane Spellmeyer

Robert A. Gray Memorial Award in Philosophy: This award is given annually to an outstanding student in the Philosophy program. Chosen by a committee of the faculty, the recipient represents exemplary academic performance and leadership. These criteria seek to perpetuate the memory of the outstanding traits of Robert Gray.

2015: Stephen Wilke

2014: David Grybinas

2013: Robert Budron

2012: Erik Zimmerman (URCA Associate at SIUE)

2011: Jason Johannpeter

2010: Kelsey Borrowman

For a complete list of recipeints, click here.

Ober Honors Award in Philosophy: This award for excellence in Philosophy is given to a student who exhibits outstanding academic performance in a Philosophy course during the given academic year. Each member of the Philosophy faculty is asked to nominate an outstanding student from one of his or her classes. The award is not restricted to Philosophy majors or minors.

2015: Teryl Thurman

2014: Michael Hensley

2013: Leon Thompson

2012: Samanthe Braswell

2011: Margaret Sherer

2010: James Feigl

For a complete list of recipients, click here.

Mary A. Maguire Dunnagan History/Philosophy Writing Contest Award: This Honors Day award is administered and awarded jointly through the Departments of Philosophy and Historical Studies at SIUE. Undergraduate and graduate students from these programs who hold at least a 3.0 GPA in their major are eligible to receive this award. Each candidate for the award must write a paper regarding either intellectual history or the history of the philosophy of ideas. Based on these writings, the recipient is chosen by a committee of faculty and staff from the two represented programs.
Recent Recipients of the Mary A. Maguire Dunnagan Award in the Philosophy Department:

2011: Nathaniel Dell (also named the Lincoln Academy Student Laureate in 2010, and an URCA Associate at SIUE)

2007: Laura Johnson

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff