Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE
College of Arts & Sciences
College of Arts & Sciences
Institutional Header

The Department of Philosophy



The Philosophy Department has a three-fold teaching mission, which consists of providing

1) A high quality education for Philosophy majors and minors, Religious Studies minors and other interdisciplinary minors to which the department contributes
2) High quality general education courses, including Reasoning and Argumentation 101
3) High quality courses in applied ethics for students in SIUE professional programs.

The Philosophy Department maintains a faculty with a wide range of philosophical interests and approaches.

This diversity is key to providing a quality undergraduate education that gives students the opportunity to explore a variety of areas of philosophy. 

Our faculty are exemplary teacher-scholars, who are active in research and bring their scholarly expertise into the classroom.

The research accomplishments of the faculty contribute to its national reputation.



For Past and Present Departmental News Click Here


SIUE wil be hosting its 10th Annual Undergraduate Philosophy Conference on Sept 25-26. Our Keynote speaker for this special occasion is Dr. L.A. Paul from University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

We are very sad to inform that George "Rob" Pritzker, Lecturer of Philosophy at SIUE, has passed away. He was 47. He received his Bachelors in Philosophy from SIUE, and studied Law at SLU. He was also a practicing lawyer out of Alton, IL and a U.S. Marine Corps veteran. Visitation will be held from 4-7 pm, Thursday Sept 24th 2015 at Marks Mortuary in Wood River followed by a 'Remembrance Service"for family and friends.

2015 Newsletter

Stephen Wilke received the Robert A. Gray Memorial Award for Philosophy and the John Mareing Scholarship for his paper concerning High School outreach.

David Favre received the Carol A. Keene Scholarship in Philosophy for outstanding performance in philosophy at SIUE.

Grant Claunch received the Religious Studies Scholarship.

Teryl Thurman received the Ober Honors Award in Philosophy for her outstanding performance in a philosophy class.

Philosophy major, Corey Huber was awarded student laureate of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois.

For more news, see here.

Join the Philosophy Department on Facebook.

Philosophy Department Web Admin

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff