Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE


Meet the Faculty

Music Faculty

Marta Simidtchieva

Office: Dunham Hall 0153

Cellist Marta Simidtchieva is an active soloist, chamber musician, and teacher. Dr. Simidtchieva is assistant professor of cello at SIUE, where she also is a member of the LeClaire Piano Trio and the Illinois Symphony Orchestra.

A native of Bourgas, Bulgaria, and graduate of the Bulgarian State Academy of Music in Sofia, she earned her doctorate of music from Florida State University, where she was a student of Lubomir Georgiev, a member of the Eppes String Quartet, and principal cellist with the University Symphony Orchestra, with whom she also appeared as a soloist several times, most notably performing the Vivaldi Concerto for Two Cellos with vocalist Bobby McFerrin.

The recipient of numerous awards and prizes, including the 2002 Florida State Doctoral Concerto Competition, Dr. Simidtchieva has been a member of, or performed with, the Tallahassee Symphony Orchestra, New Symphony Orchestra (Sofia, Bulgaria), Orlando Philharmonic, Columbus (Georgia) Symphony, Eastern Music Philharmonic Orchestra, the Wildwoon Opera Festival, and a regular performer at the New Bulgarian Music Festival.

facebookoff twitteroff vineoff linkedinoff flickeroff instagramoff googleplusoff tumblroff socialoff