About the Journal

is a generalist journal of literary criticism and scholarship published quarterly at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. PLL publishes essays on all national literatures and historical periods, as well as book reviews, notes, and original materials such as notebooks, letters, and journals.

PLL began publication in 1965; its founding editor was Nicholas T. Joost, who was succeeded by Alvin Sullivan until his passing in 1991. The journal was then edited by Dickie Spurgeon from 1991 to 1992, then passed to co-editorship under Jack G. Voller and Brian Abel Ragen until 1997, at which point Professor Ragen edited the journal until his retirement in 2008.

 Jack G. Voller

Associate Editors
James Hill, Maurice Hunt, Christine Krueger, and Brian Abel Ragen

Managing Editor
Melanie Ethridge

Advisory Board
John I. Ades, Cathy N. Davidson, Roy Harvey Pearce, Gene A. Plunka, Stella Purce Revard,
Thomas P. Roche, H. Aram Veeser, Linda Wagner-Martin, Donald Wesling

PLL is a member and subscribes to the principles of the Conference of Editors of Learned Journals, an MLA allied organization.

Subscription Information
Submitting an Essay
Forthcoming Essays
Past Issues
Back Issues and Photocopying

PLL Home Page