Student newspaper wins national, state awards in 2010-20112011 - Tammy Merrett-Murry - Contact (618)-650-3597

The Alestle recently won nine awards during the annual college media conference of the Illinois College Press Association, as well as a national third place Best of Show award in Fall 2010 during the Associated Collegiate Press fall convention. They placed in the four-year non-daily division.

In the state competition in February, The Alestle won first place in sports photography and third place for front-page layout. Editor-In-Chief Aren Dow won second place for sports game coverage. Sports Editor Allan Lewis won third place in the category of sports news story. Lewis also brought home an honorable mention in the sports game coverage category.

The Alestle staff brought home many honorable mentions. Arts & Entertainment Editor Lindsey Oyler and Opinion Editor Kari Williams shared an honorable mention award in the feature page category. Williams also won an honorable mention in the feature story category.

Alestle Photo Editor Michelle Beard brought home an award for The Alestle with an honorable mention in the news photo category. The staff also won an honorable mention in the photo essay category.

"We almost doubled the usual number of awards won this year at the ICPA conference," Alestle Program Director Tammy Merrett-Murry said. "These awards, combined with the national best in show third place we won in the fall, point toward a great year of growth for the Alestle."

Entries in the competition were judged for excellence by members of the Illinois Press Association.

The Alestle competes nationally against many other newspapers from across the country. State-wide the Alestle competes regularly against newspapers from such student newspapers and schools as the Bradley Scout at Bradley University, Chicago Maroon at the University of Illinois, Chicago Weekly at the University of Chicago, the Columbia Chronicle at Columbia College, DePaulia at DePaul University, Dominican Star at Dominican University, Chicago Flame at the University of Illinois-Chicago, the Journal at University of Illinois-Springfield, Lewis University, the Loyola Phoenix at Loyola University, the Independent at Northeastern Illinois University, The Torch at Roosevelt University and the Xavierite at St. Xavier University.